Bocconcini Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
very tasty and filling salad, very light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
We enjoyed this but I also made a few adjustments. I omitted the celery, added one sweet red and orange peppers (thinly sliced), added one tablespoon spicy mustard and one packet Splenda! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This was somewhat of a letdown for me. With all these quality ingredients I expected something remarkable. Fresh arugula, Belgian endive, cherry tomatoes, basil and fresh bocconcini, all tossed with a light, lemon vinaigrette. I and my taste buds were really enthusiastic. It was beautiful and certainly inviting. Lots of texture and great eye appeal. Two things, however, disappointed me – I love light vinaigrettes but this one fell flat. It needed a boost – I added a dab of Dijon and some fresh minced garlic. And I wouldn’t THINK of using as much bocconcini called for – half a pound of cheese in a salad for two people? I used far less, probably 3-4 bocconcini balls per serving. Finally, I do like basil but I didn’t care for it here – it overpowered rather than enhanced the salad. In hindsight, I’d have left it out. So, perk up the dressing, go easy on the bocconcini and save the basil for another use and we’ve got something here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
The store didn't have endive so I had to omit that. I'm not a big fan of raw bell pepper but it worked really well in this. Think I'll try it with goats cheese next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Absolutely delightful, clean, fresh and very easy to prepare. Sprinkle with salt, pepper and basil. Voila! Lemon dressing is light and clean. This salad looks great, is colorful and would go with pork, veal or fish and a nice glass of pinot...Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donnalee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
We really enjoyed this, but I made a couple of significant changes. I have yet to find an authentic Italian deli here that sells fresh bocconcini, and the prepackaged, commercial stuff is flavorless, so instead I used crumbled goat cheese, which is nice and creamy. Because goat cheese is tangier than mozzarella, I subbed balsamic vinegar and a touch of stevia (an herbal sweetener) for lemon juice. Combined with the arugula, this made for a very flavorful salad. I omitted the celery, doubled the remaining veggies, sliced the endive, and added the vinegar and oil to taste. A very nice combination of flavors and textures!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
Left out the celery and the endive. Used arugula just as it was and didn't chop. Upped the amount of fresh basil and used strips of green and red pepper instead of just chopping the green pepper up. Make sure you use a good quality of extra virgin olive oil. Pretty colors but I think I will just stick with traditional insalata caprese salad next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
I changed this recipe quite a bit for our tastes, but then it was WONDERFUL!! I used the same base of olive oil and lemon juice, then added grape tomatoes and garlic. I made it much simpler and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States