Bob's Thai Beef Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2006
Most authentic recipe I have come across (my mom is from thailand and makes the best beef salad or in thai "yum nua") but I agree, too much fish sauce. She uses 2 limes and about 4-5 tbsp of fish sauce. No sugar and use yellow onions. Don't mix the cucumbers in, serve them on the side. We usually eat this with sticky jasmine rice and our hands. Also, if you can manage roasted (raw) sticky rice that has been ground in a coffee grinder adds wonderful nutty flavor and texture (but beware, it will make you cough and sputter when you make it). It helps to slice the beef as thinly as possible. But over all, not bad but can be made better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2002
I found this salad way too salty. Also, with so much lime juice and a full cup of fish sauce, the salad was more like a soup! I might try to make this again with the same ingredients, but I will definitely alter the proportions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTCHN6

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
Way too watery. 4Tbsp fish sauce and 4 Tbsp lime is just the right amount. I'm lo carb so I substituted sugar for 2 packets of Splenda. Also, I served mine over butter lettuce and added thinly sliced red bell pepper. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
1cup of fish sauce and the amount asked for the limb juice is way off for me. Like said... it was more like a soup but I tried it the second time with 4 tablespoons of fish sauce and 4 tablespoons of lime juice and a tablespoon of sugar was perfect and 5 stars. It was a big hit at my dinner party. 1 cup of fish sauce is waaaayyy to salty :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
Not bad I served it on a bed of lettuce, Remember always use THAI fish sauce its not as salty, if its not processed in Thailand its going to be on the salty side. Refined sugar will cut the salt taste too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baydog

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2005
Be careful how much fish sauce you use!!! Using a whole cup is way too much. I'll also say that I like fish but apparently fish sauce is not a good flavor for me. Personally, I thought it smelled like low tide. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2004
I love Thai salad. but I always serve lettuce with the cucumber and white onion any,I also put fresh cilantro over it, other veggies if you like tomatoe, bell pepper with your hot meat and dressing over it along with hot white rice. I use half lime and half fish sauce with how many peppers you want. Drizzle a litte dressing over rice. Serve the salad over the rice. Its good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
My fiancee and I make a meal that is similar to this one. We definitly do not add the one cup of fish sauce, we add about 4 1/2 tbsp and the same with the lime juice. We add in some green onion, cilantro, and chili flakes and cook the steak MEDUIM RARE. The dish isn't supposed to be "soupy" but there should be liquid left over. The steak should be cut along the grain and it will soak up some of the juice. We like to eat this dish with rice and then pour some of the liquid from the salad on our rice...the rice helps tone done any saltiness and just goes really well with the dish....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This is an amazing salad. I did read the reviews and I thought that 1 cup of fish sauce would be way too much, so I only used 1 cup. I also added tomatoes and chopped cilantro. I used a couple of serrano chiles so my husband would be able to tolerate this heat wise. I'll be making this recipe again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I'm Thai. We normally use fishsauce equally to lime juice (this is the formula!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kissie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Thai Bison Salad

Learn how to make a fresh, healthy Thai salad with grilled low-fat bison steak.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States