Bob's Stuffed Banana Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
The flavors in this recipe are on point. Couldn't be better. The filling recipe just makes way too much! Unless they used Banana peppers that were a foot long, there's no way it filled just eight. But loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Barnsley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
I have so many banana peppers this year. They must like the hot weather! I made slight variations because there are only two of us, I wanted to save time, and I am on the South Beach diet. I simmered 8 large seeded peppers 10 minutes to decrease time in the oven. I only used one pound of sausage and used 1/2 of everything else, except I used full spices. I added the worshester sauce to the tomato mixture and omitted the egg and bread crumbs. Then added some of the sauce to the sausage, added cheese, and spooned the meat into the peppers. Then poured the remaining tomato mixture over the peppers and baked for 1/2 hour. Even my husband enjoyed this recipe and that is saying a lot because he does most of the cooking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
This recipe was fantastic, absolutely delicious!!! First off don't pay attention to the negative reviews because there was too much sausage. BooHoo A big part of cooking is adapting. It's true you only need half the sausage for 8 banana peppers. I knew before hand this was going to be a lot of sausage to fill the volume of the peppers (my banana were 12" in length and 2" diameter) as it's pretty obvious however, I was actually glad that I had left over stuffing. With the left over stuffing I made meatballs and paired them with fried green tomatoes for brunch the next morning. I balled about 8 sausage meatballs (2.5"-3") and poured a bit of the sauce over them, put them back in the oven at the same temperature. 30-35 minutes or until internal temperature reaches 160. Others were also complaining that you don't need to boil the peppers before hand as the recipe states. This may be true but the boiling helps soften the peppers a bit to make them more pliable so they don't break while pulling back the flap and stuffing the pepper. It is an extra step but I found it worth while and I was busy cutting the veggies and preparing the sauce while this was happening so it wasn't any wasted time for me. This recipe gets a five star from me because the flavors were fantastic and I don't mind to have a little extra so I can re-purpose ingredients for more than one meal. If you have kids you can easily make spaghetti and meatballs the following night and the meatballs will be done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I was confused about stuffing uncooked sausage to pepper. Previous recipes I've removed casing ,cooked it first then crumbled and add bread crumbs etc. It was good though ,I removed the casting mixed it raw filled my peppers that I cut lengthwise which made it much easier. Still in sure if I was supposed to remove casing .....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Halved the recipe and still had meat left over after stuffing 12-14 banana peppers! Used fresh instead of canned tomatoes and didn't have any Worcestershire sauce, also substituted swiss chard for the celery and added some of the greens. Delicious, smelled so good cooking and makes for a nice presentation too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WEBANGEL14

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SandyM
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
We loved this recipe, used fresh banana peppers out of my dad's garden. I am not a fan of sausage so I used lean ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Too much work! The amount of time involved, cost of meat and taste didn't match. We made exact recipie. No changes... The recipie called for 8 peppers... We filled 12 and they were huge and we still had more than half of the meat filling left over. If you do try this recipie start by cutting it in half. I thought I ours was too Sally... But that could have been our sausage? Maybe, maybe not...I didn't rate it based on the saltiness.. It was okay... We really loved the sauce and might duplicate it for pizza ect..I won't make this again though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christie Leonard-Garcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowell, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
These were delicious! Our oven ended up breaking while I was trying to make this so I just cooked it on the stove top and they turned out great. We served with some pasta. Perfect summer recipe from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
great recipe as is....second time I changed a few things, no need to par boil peppers. i use tomato sauce in stead of crushed tomatoes, I also used all hot sausage. to much filling so I just pick more peppers and fill them & I make meat balls with the left over hot sausage stuffing ad them in with the peppers, they are great for spaghetti. Mozzarella cheese at the end...yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherminator

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I tried this with home-grown banana peppers. The filling recipe makes a LOT of meat. Consider cutting it in half if you're just making for two. I did 12 peppers. My husband and I ate six, we kept two for a lunch tomorrow, and I helf-cooked four more and froze them. I also froze the remaining filling, which should make at least another batch of 12. We absolutely LOVED it! The sauce was a perfect complement. I served it with plain penne pasta on the side, and we mixed the sauce into it. Looking forward to the next batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann White

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States