Bob's Stuffed Banana Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2001
The flavor was delicious and this is a terrific way to use up the peppers from the garden. Note that this recipe calls for entirely too much filling for 8 banana peppers. I halfed the filling recipe and still had about a cup left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2002
Super delicious. I altered the recipe and used regular pork sausage and ground beef to tame it a bit for my family. I also filled to bell peppers that I needed to use up with the left-over filling. I will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2002
I'm pleased to report I've tried this recipe and made with only a few changes. Since I had a lot of garden tomatoes, those were used rather than the canned. I added approx. 2 tbs. sugar to the tomatoes. Also, after baking approx. 40 minutues I covered with shredded mozarella then continued baking. Before I bake this next time, I'll try cooking the sausage first and delete the grease that accumulates in the dish after baking. This, of course, will require less baking time. I'll also add some Italian Seasoning to the tomato sauce mixture. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
This was mouthwatering. I only used one package of italian sausage and one can of the crushed tomatoes. This made a lot even with the one package of sausage, so I cooked what was left of the stuffing, added the other can of tomato sauce and seasoned it up to make a nice spaghetti sauce that I served on the side with pasta. It was fabulous! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley_Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
I made this recipe with some slight alterations to save time and it is GREAT!!! #1, for the filling I only buy 1# of hot sausage and cut it in half while still in the package and I freeze the other half in a ziplock bag for next time. Next I add 1 egg, 1/2 cup spaghetti sauce, 1/2 cup parmesan cheese, and a cup of breadcrumbs. This much stuffing will fill about a dozen medium sized peppers. The recipe's filling is for WAY more than 8 peppers, so it's better to cut it in half. I still clean and boil the pebbers for 5 minutes and once they're stuffed, I put them in a casserole dish and cover them with purchased spaghetti sauce and bake. When done I cover with shredded mozzarella cheese. It's WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
201 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
Great recipe! Definitely worth trying. My husband loves stuffed banana peppers, and he thought these were delicious. I usually cover my peppers with sauce from a jar, but the sauce in this recipe was worth the making. However, as other reviewers have said, this recipe makes a LOT more than eight banana peppers. I made the mistake of doubling the recipe. I was able to stuff around three dozen small- to medium-sized banana peppers and another sixteen large, and I still had about a pound of stuffing mixture left over. I was wondering if the recipe was for stuffed green peppers instead of banana peppers???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2003
Made this with both sweet and hot banana peppers and found that the hot peppers added more flavor. Could be from my love of all things hot & spicy. Used a jerky gun to stuff the peppers which worked quite well. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barney, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2004
Wow. Thanks for this great submission. This was outstanding. Couldn't find "banana peppers" in the produce department, so used Hungarian wax peppers which I believe is the same thing. At least they had the same general appearance and heat as banana peppers. Used turkey Italian sausage, no bread crumbs and omitted the can of tomato sauce. Also sprinkled the top with more parmesan before baking and served with a side of low-carb spaghetti. We just love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
Really, really good. Plenty of stuffing mix, so I froze the remainder and will use it another time. We used cubanelles (not sure if they're the same as banana peppers) and they were great. We will definately make this again. I added a 16 oz can of tomato sauce to use up the can and a half jar of spaghetti sauce that we had left over from another dinner. I liked having the extra sauce to pour over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Manchester, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
Very Good! Makes your belly burn after eating, but I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States