Bob's Stuffed Banana Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I made this last night and it was really good. I used different sausage because my husband wanted me to use meat we already had in the freezer (he's a hunter), but the flavor of the sauce and the meats together were fantastic. I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 because there was way too much meat mixture for 8 banana peppers. I used 10 peppers fresh from our garden and they were huge, but I still had at least a quarter of the meat left over. I even split my peppers down the middle and made them boats so I could add extra meat and still had a ton left over. I ended up cooking it at the same time as the peppers in a loaf pan so we can have meatloaf tonight. :) Also, next time I will not boil the peppers first. They became a little mushy after cooking for an hour in the oven. I'm hoping that by not boiling them first they will remain a little firmer. I served with a salad and parmesan garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leisl Kern

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Delicious. Nice heat to the dish. Something you don't have everyday and can't find on any menus, so a welcome change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Outstanding! Great use for our homegrown banana peppers. I used turkey Italian sausage and cut the meat down to 20 oz...still had way too much filling. Also, would suggest low casserole to encourage some of the liquid to evaporate during baking. I like the idea of mozarella as a topper. Home Run!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
OMG! this was the best dish I've ever made!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I Made this dish, last night. We used no salt added tomatoes and tomato sauce, left out the salt and added about 1/4 cup of dry red wine. My family raved about it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I have made this 2 times and its great.It takes some time but the time is worth it.The left over meat I usually have after I make into meat balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterfly_Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hedgesville, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I tried this recipe and I only used about 1/2 pound or less into six good size banana peppers. Also, the taste is very ordinary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Excellent stuffed peppers! I ended up with way more filling than 8 banana peppers could hold, so I added a couple of red bell peppers to the pan to hold the excess. All were deeelicious! I used 1 lb. hot Italian sausage mixed with 1 lb. ground sirloin... other than that I followed it as stated. OH, except for step one... I skipped it. There's really no need to boil the peppers because 1 hour in the oven is more than enough cooking time. A big thanks to Bob for coming up with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I made this recipe and my fiance called anybody that would listen to tell them how good it was. The only thing is I waited to long to use my bannana peppers so I couldn't use them all so I substituted and used the large pasta shells and followed everything in the recipe just stuffed the shells instead of the peppers and what peppers I could use I cut them down and stuffed in the shells with the ingredients. Sprinkled left over cheese and suace on top. I still give it five stars because it was soooo freakin good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tifanilane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
OMG this is good I added some shredded mozzarella on top and it just added to the already wonderful dish Bob you did real good with this one. I will be serving this to my friends during our fall gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States