Bob's Stuffed Banana Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
If you don't like stuff green peppers than this is the recipe for you! I really liked the taste - banana pepper did not over power the taste. Glad I read the reviews - I only used 1/2 lb of each sausage and still had quite a bit leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
These were great. Unfortunately I had to change up the recipe a little due to what I had on hand. I used ground beef instead of sausage, tomato sauce from a jar, added chopped onions & ~ 3/4 cup cooked rice to the filling. I only used 1 lb of meat (I halved the recipe for the filling) & got 12 med - large banana peppers plus extra filling for probably 3 more or so. I slit the peppers open so I can generously stuff them. My only problem with this recipe is I wish the peppers would have kept a little crispness... which is probably just impossible after cooking in sauce for that long. I also make a bunch (the whole filling recipe makes a ton of peppers) and freeze them (without sauce). I just pull out what I need & thaw during the day before baking. Then I just use a little pre-made pizza sauce so they aren't too saucy & I don't have to do any more prep. They turn out great & are a great item to have in the freezer for a no-prep dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hartsellem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ipabrewer
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I read the comments and found it is true, there's just too much sauce, that is, only if you don't like lots of sauce! Fortunately, I love sauce. Anyway, this is pretty great! I wasn't sure about it at first, but the celery was actually a welcome addition that wouldn't have thought of myself. Changes I made: used a few shallots along with the garlic, only used 1 lb Italian sausage, and added 8 ounces of ricotta cheese to the stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Tasty, but triple the amount of meat filling needed. Additionally I made 12 large meat balls and still have enough meat mixture left for another batch of the peppers. Add the mozzarella topping. Use whatever tomato sauce you like...I used one with zucchini and other vegies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newfane, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
This is a great recipe. I had to change a couple things though. I didn't have parm, so I diced some moz and added it to the filling. I used a jar of (pretty bland) pasta sauce instead of the tomato sauce & crushed tomatoes, but I still used the onion, celery, diced pepper & spices. I also topped with sliced moz the last few minutes of baking. I served them with pasta, italian bread & a salad. My husband liked them so much, he said he was going to eat them all! I didn't let him, of course ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
never have I eaten better stuffed peppers, did have to add more sauce, needed a little more moisture for the gravy. My wife even liked them, said don't change a thing (I like to experiment).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
This was fantastic. I only had sweet sausage on hand, and it turned out wonderful. I cut the filling in half and still had some left over. I'll freeze it and use it when I make this again. Sauce was so delicious. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
I was very skeptical at first, as I have never used banana peppers. But, I figured since we have such an abundance in the garden this year, I'd try this out. It really was AMAZING!!! I only ended up using 1 lb. of the mild sausage, and have enough leftover for a second batch. I also added shredded mozzarella during the last 5 minutes. Try this recipe - you will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I loved these. I was given a bunch of banana peppers at work the one day and wanted something good to make, and i found this! It worked out great because i also buy a great quality hot Italian sausage in bulk. Instead of using both hot and mild i just used the hot and cut it down to a lb. The filling still ended up being an extra amount (as a lot of other reviewers pointed out) i just froze the extra and plan on making meatballs with it. My sauce ended up drying out a little when it baked so next time i will either try covering it or adding more sauce. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Saylorsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I have made these several times and they are always amazing! I always double the sauce because I like my peppers covered. Yes it's alot of meat, but so what...stuff some red or green bells and use the extra to make meatballs. Those of you who think 1 1/2 cups bread crumbs are too much must not have read the recipe. It states to add 1 cup of the sauce to the meat mixture and it works out perfectly. This time I filled 8 hot peppers, 2 red bell peppers and a medium large zuchinni all in the same pan and the flavors blend well together. Skip the par boil. Those who complain it's too much work and rated it poorly because of that need to stick to a box of hamburger helper! This recipe rocks! Thanks for sharing Bob.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Industry, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States