Bob's Stuffed Banana Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
FAB!!!! I sliced peppers in half and laid on sides - FAR easier than stuffing them whole, and meat stayed nicely mounded on top. I had enough meat left to also stuff some extra green peppers. I did have to make another batch of sauce for these though, since I used all the sauce on the 8 banana peppers/16 halves. I did not boil anything prior to stuffing and still turned out great. A definite keeper, and a nice change from the everyday rotation!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Andover, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Fuquay Varina, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe. I think it needs a total makeover as far as how much meat is needed, it is way too much meat, and I really can't give it a 5 star rating b/c I didn't have a few ingredients so I winged it (which I rarely do) BUT, the flavors were great, and it's a good start to a great recipe once it is revised...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Wonderfull!!! I added 1 box (8oz) of cream cheese, and 1/2 lb of mixed italian cheeses to the stuffing.I also used only mild sausage instead of a roll of hot(my daughter cant do hot stuff). And used 2 kinds of peppers that I grew in my garden this year, Hungarian Wax (hot) and Cubanell (sweet). All 3 of my children loved them, even the very picky 7 year old. This recipe is an absolute keeper that will go into the family cookbook that gets handed down to the next generation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Oh my gosh, was this awesome! We decided to grow some hot banana peppers this year and last week I began to worry about how best to use them. I cam across this recipe and I am so glad I did. Others are right, even though my banana peppers were huge, I had a lot of extra stuffing, Soooo, I made meatballs for the non-pepper lovers in my house. Just make sure they are covered in the sauce and check the temp after the 60 minute cooking time is up. I served it with rice topped with the sauce and fresh green beans This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Makes more meat than you need. you can halve all of the stuffing ingredients, use the whole egg, and have enough for 10-12 peppers. This stuffing makes the perfect meat balls. I rolled the extra into 1 inch balls and fried in a little oil until crisp. The best sausage stuffed peppers I've eaten. Sauce was excellent as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
One of the best dishes I have had in a long time! I made this vegetarian style and used mock hamburger vs the sausage...spicy can be done via spices. Perfect use for all those banana peppers from the garden and will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
very good!! Used hungarian hot peppers. For the filling I used mild italian sausage and chorizo.Left out the celery. Instead of crushed tomatoes used diced tomatoes with green chiles. And when ready sliced in half and topped with some of the cooked sauce and extra mozzarella. The peppers were not as hot once cooked. Definantly a keeper. Liked better than stuffed green peppers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Outstanding! Recipe definitely fills more peppers than listed, but that was great as I have an overabundance in my garden. They freeze really well, I stuck a label on the front so the hubby/kids could cook them anytime. They just fill the dish with how many they are planning to cook for supper, cover it with a can of spaghetti sauce, and cook it as directed. Cover with shredded cheese the last 10 minutes - and a great home cooked meal with no effort. Thanks Bob for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
This was delicious! I'm a college student so this was quite an undertaking for me, but it was really pretty simple. I left out the celery and the breadcrumbs (I forgot to pick them up at Wal-mart), and since there was so much meat mixture left over I put some with the left-over tomato sauce to pour over the peppers. I will definitely cook this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I was very pleased how easy and yummy this recipe is. I also substituted a jar of pasta sauce like mentioned in several reviews. I used fresh basil too, just because I have tons!! This recipe reminds me of a dish at a local Italian restaurant. I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Kelsey's Favorite Stuffed Green Peppers

Peppers stuffed with rice, sauce, and seasoned beef and topped with cheese.

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States