Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by gardengrl
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I feel I make way too many changes to fairly review this recipe. I decided on 4 stars as the ingredients and method of cooking sound good, but this is far from being a traditional way to fix Braciole. An Italian friend and great cook gave me loose instructions on how to prepare this dish, they are as follows. Finely dice the next 3 ingredients: 1 peeled carrot, 1 celery stock, 1/2 yellow or white onion, set aside. Pound a 1lb to 1 1/2lb flank or round steak to 1/3” to 1/4” thick. Mince 2 large cloves of garlic and sprinkle over meat and work into the meat. Season with salt and pepper, sprinkle with 2TBLS chopped parsley. Top with 4 slices of prosciutto (enough to cover meat), grate 2 TBSP Parmesan or Romano cheese over meat and sprinkle evenly with 2TBSP pine nuts. Some Italian cooks sprinkle 2 TBSP of raisins on, I personally prefer not to, your choice. Roll flank steak from long side into a log and secure with toothpicks. Heat 1/4 cup of olive oil in fry pan and fry until brown on all sides. Remove to dish. Heat additional olive oil in pan, add carrots, celery and onion. Sautee ‘til veggies are tender, but not brown. Add 1 cup red wine, scrapping up browned bits from skillet. Cook until wine is reduced by half. Add 1-15oz can diced Italian style tomatoes and 15oz crushed tomatoes. Place all ingredients back into pan or Pyrex dish and bake or simmer stove top several hours 'til tender. I plan to try Bob's method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gardengrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merced, California, USA
Living In: Berwick, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I'm not much of a cook, but have always wanted to make Braciole. The variations on recipes are endless! I chose this as my first try as it is so easy. I thought it was the best thing I ever tasted that I made lol. I gave it 5 stars because it was so easy, so hearty and just delicioius. I used 2 different types of jar sauce, one with sausage and the other basil. Yummmy!!!! And didn't change a thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
OK, I know -- I was bad! I made this recipe, BUT . . . I seriously modified it. (Actually, I more or less made Giada De Laurentis' "Braciole recipe" from the Food Network on TV). I couldn't get flank steak, had to buy skirt steak. Couldn't get it to pound to 1/4" thick (mine was about 1/2" thick!). I stuffed it with 1/2 cup Italian bread crumbs, 2/3 cup grated Romano/Parmesan & 1/4 cup grated (plain) Parmesan, 1 t. minced garlic, 1 T. Italian seasoning & 1 T. parsley flakes, and 2 T. EVOO. I rolled it up, tied it, & browned it. Then, I deglazed my pan with 1/2 cup white wine & added ONE bottle of Marinara sauce, which was PLENTY of sauce! Then I put the braciole in an oven-proof dish & poured the sauce over it. Covered with foil & baked at 375 for 30 minutes, uncovered & baked 30-40 minutes more at 350. The meat was VERY tender, stuffing was good, sauce was fair (I may have used too cheap a brand of marinara -- and the sauce was too thin, with the wine & the grease cooking out of the meat). Next time I'll use a thick & chunky spaghetti sauce. But, all in all, it WAS good and I would try it again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LouHoo in VA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Martinsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Love this, and it freezes beautifully also. I skipped the bacon because I can't stand to touch it but mixed cooked bacon pieces into the crumb egg mix to get the flavor. I used round steaks and pounded those out, and they made nice individual servings plus they are always on sale. And I used canned tomato sauce, not a jars of sauce and it made a wonderful gravy over our starch after all the cooking. I browned the rolls first but this is perfect for the crockpot otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Excellent! I added a little garlic powder & an Italian seasoning mix, slow cooked it for about 8 hours, and the meat was very tender. Next time, I'll use something longer than toothpicks to hold the roll together. Adding a little Italian sausage along with the bacon adds some extra flavor, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
The only thing I changed about this was using my own homemade marinara sauce. My dad is originally from Italy...he doesn't eat jarred sauce lol. My husband and parents enjoyed it and I loved the fact that I was able to make it in the slow cooker. Definitely a YUM in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Definitely needs chopped garlic and fresh parsley and also hard boiled chopped eggs (that's right!) mixed in with the breadcrumbs. I like raisins too but many do not. Try the egg, you will be surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I have enjoyed all the changes to my recipe. the easiest way to start the flank steak is to have the butcher run it through a tenderizer twice, then add kosher salt and cracked pepper to both sides and pound in with a meat mallet. Add what you want, roll, tie,and sear then drop in your slow cooker with your marinara.... Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
A great way to make Braciole. I did saute some carrots and celeryand onion with at tbl spoon of tomatoe paste then added about a cup of Sangria Wine to deglaze..(only red wine I had in house) Then added the spagetti sauce over the meat in the crockpot...Delish. I only needed 7hr cook time. Loved the recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Camden, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
This was pretty good. The bacon inside gave a nice different flavor. Thanks for the idea to cook in a slow cooker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States