Bob's Habanero Hot Sauce - Liquid Fire Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Fantastic stuff, goes in almost everything I need to raise the heat level on now. Didn't change anything, but did not seed any of the peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Excellent! I have tweaked the ingredients to include honey, pineapple and many more habaneros. I have many people who cannot handle the heat of this sauce still raving about the awesome taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Press Repairman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Great starting point! First time I made it I followed the directions to the letter and is came out great. I have since tinkered with it adding lots of roasted garlic. I have also changed out the peaches, using canned necterines and fresh pears (my favorite)as well as substuting Honey for the Molasses. With the 12 Habenaros I dont think the heat is any more intense then Tobasco, but the Flavor leaves store bought stuff in the dust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I love it. Used habaneros from our garden, and our own T & A Farms Raw, Local Honey--which is our business in LA--and lowered the mustard amount. It was great. Vinegar, salt, and sugar are meant to balance each other out. Would use dry mustard next time. No offense, but some of these reviews change the recipe so much, the review reads like a review of their own creation. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I rate this recipe 4 stars because I think it is a fantastic base for customizing your own sweet but sneaky hot condiment. That being said, it's not nearly as hot as advertised and could use some refinement. After a few iterations, I've managed to turn this base into my favorite hot sauce hands down over anything I have ever had store bought...and I've had a lot. Here's what I did to make it work for what I like. Pump up the heat: 1. Increased the number of habaneros to 25. Reduce the sweet: 1. Dropped the peaches to an 8oz can w/ heavy syrup. 2. Dropped the molasses to 1/4 cup. Manage the mustard: 1. Dropped the yellow mustard (french's) to 2 tbsp Add some flesh: 1. Added one fire roasted, seeded and peeled Pablano pepper. 2. Added two fire roasted and seeded Serrano peppers. After these changes I really like what I've come up with. It's a hotter, yet still sweet version with a little more thickness. I may add some onion next time I do this to add a little more chunk and complexity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Use this recipe every year. I usually make several batches at the same time and can with the boil bath method. Excellent on eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I love it! I'm glad I made a big batch because I'm putting it on everything. Chili, pork chops, wings, mac and cheese...it makes everything better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matty Guerin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
AMAZING!!! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe! I made 5 batches of this recipe .. I got 10 pints of REALLY good sauce! Based on others reviews, I bought the peaches in lite syrup & our neighbor had just given us fresh honey, so I used honey instead of molasses. And I had SO many habaneros, that I used 24 per batch vs the 12 it called for!! I canned this (water bath process) for 20 minutes based off of others reviews. My husband eats it like salsa & chips - He loves anything hot & spicy!! Last night for dinner, I marinated a bag of chicken wings with a jar of the sauce, then grilled them outside on the grill. My husband cooked half of them just as was after marinated & half he basted with more sauce while he grilled them. We have 4 kids (7,5,3&1) The whole family LOVED them!! The ones that were just marinated only were delicious! And the ones that were marinated + basted were perfectly spicy!! I am so in love with this sauce!! I wish now, I would have made 10 batches instead of doubling the peppers & only making 5 .. it is SO good! And it is SO easy to prepare!! PS I used French's yellow mustard - just the amount it calls for. Not sure why some are saying the mustard is too strong?! The sauce is amazing!! I am thinking that I could have used ANY kind of peaches & been fine, Next year I'll test to find out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
Absolutely love this sauce. I have made it twice, the first time I used honey instead of molasses, 6 habaneros and 6 jalapenos. I recommend using molasses as it gives it a more complex flavor. If you like more heat, do not scrape out the seeds. First time it wasn't hot enough for us. I also used less brown sugar and mustard the second time around and it was delicious. I added a 1/2 tsp of liquid smoke based on other comments. I will make this again and again, thanks for the great sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
This is a good sauce. We made today with our fresh from the garden peppers. We don't care for habanero peppers, so we used Devil's Tongue which are on par heat-level wise. I drained the peaches and used apple cider vinegar. I also omitted a few things based on other reviews...I didn't use the molasses or prepared mustard (I used about a teaspoon of powdered mustard), and I didn't use the cumin, coriander, or ginger. And I used smoked paprika, and I also smoked my Devil's Tongue peppers for a bit. While it's not exactly the same sauce, it's quite good, and this recipe was an excellent starting point. Like others, my sauce turned out a bit darker, but the flavor is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Sriracha Sauce

See how to make your own sriracha hot sauce.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States