Bob's Habanero Hot Sauce - Liquid Fire Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I hope you like hot!!... Really Good Sauce! Sweet, hot, complex flavors, and just when you think everything is fine, those habaneros come strolling across your tongue in a sort of delayed reaction and make your hair stand up... I made a double batch of this stuff, using just two tablespoons of yellow mustard, and added a teaspoon of liquid smoke. Otherwise, followed the recipe. It was a nice fiery orange color when I had processed the habs and the peaches. When I added in the molasses every thing turned a dark reddish brown... Sort of looks like BBQ sauce. Still good, but I may try using light amber honey intead of molasses next time to keep that lovely orange glow. It just seems like this sauce should be a nice red-orange color, to match the taste. Regardless, this sauce is fantastic! It gets better as it ages and mellows. I will definately make this again, after I go through the two 24 oz. jars I made the first time! (It is going fast...) I think I will try bottling some for gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flying chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
Used only eight habaneros. It made it not too spicy, but delicious! This was so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Great taste with heat,no yellow mustard so i used 1/4 cup brown mustard only change i made no more store bought for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
A very very good hotsauce. It has a great flavour, nice and spicy. I only used half the habaneros, making it less hot so i can eat it as well. Will make a batch like this again and another batch with the full amount of habaneros next time for my husband, who likes it a lot hotter. It also makes a great marinade for chicken or pork. Good stuff!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Delft, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I sent a sampling of this sauce to fellow college mates and to my dad's boss at Dupont. They all loved it. I like it, but then again I'm not too crazy about entirely destroying my taste buds. Thanks for sharing this recipe. It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Fantastic recipe! I was looking to use up my large crop of Serranos, so I used a small bowlful of them instead of the habaneros. I cut the mustard in half. I was out of paprika, and I didn't have any peaches, so I used chili powder and pineapple instead. It worked out perfectly, and one of my coworkers is addicted! This second time around I'm using the habaneros, and it's even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
This was definitely the hottest hot sauce I've made. It got the nose running! I followed the other suggestions and didn't put in the mustard. Great for wings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
I love this recipe but had enough habaneros to make four batches. I now have 160 oz of this sauce and am not sure what to do with it. I tried freezing it in a muffin tin as another user did, however, it just turned into slush. I'd really like to jar it or can it so I can save some and give some away but I'm not sure if it will keep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Slapshot31

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
I have made this recipe three times now and everyone loves it. I changed it a little by using ketchup instead of mustard. I also used three cloves of garlic and a dash of liquid smoke. It is really good on steaks and burgers. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
I also did not use mustard and it came our great. VERY HOT. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Sriracha Sauce

See how to make your own sriracha hot sauce.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States