Bob's Habanero Hot Sauce - Liquid Fire Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
I have been using this site for years. This is by far my favorite recipe that I have found. This hot sauce has a ton of flavor and is good on just about any meat. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATZEYES

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Juneau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
My husband is a habanero fanatic and loved the flavor of this sauce. I use it as a salsa base. I simply pulse in a few tomatoes and a white onion to a small amount of the sauce. A little sauce goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I've made this many times. The first time I followed the recipe exactly and everyone said it was sweet ( maybe a good rib sauce). Second time I reduced the molasses to 1/4 cup and used peaches in lite syrup. Huge difference - perfect HOT SAUCE. Also, second time it kept a good color after molasses was added. In a family where hot is never hot enough - this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeland Village, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
This is WONDERFUL!!! I just poured it on left over fish. I used corn syrup since I didn't have molasses, cider vinegar since I didn't have regular and I used a mild honey mustard dipping sauce since there were so many comments about the mustard. This really cut back on the stong mustard taste. I also used 14 peppers, 4 of which I left seeded. VERY SPICY with the addition.I only wish I would have added garlic like some have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
This is awesome - we made it with all 12 habeneros both times. The first time we de-seeded them all, and it had almost no heat but was still tasty. The second time we de-seeded half, and it's perfect! Spicy but still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Herkimer, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I hope you like hot!!... Really Good Sauce! Sweet, hot, complex flavors, and just when you think everything is fine, those habaneros come strolling across your tongue in a sort of delayed reaction and make your hair stand up... I made a double batch of this stuff, using just two tablespoons of yellow mustard, and added a teaspoon of liquid smoke. Otherwise, followed the recipe. It was a nice fiery orange color when I had processed the habs and the peaches. When I added in the molasses every thing turned a dark reddish brown... Sort of looks like BBQ sauce. Still good, but I may try using light amber honey intead of molasses next time to keep that lovely orange glow. It just seems like this sauce should be a nice red-orange color, to match the taste. Regardless, this sauce is fantastic! It gets better as it ages and mellows. I will definately make this again, after I go through the two 24 oz. jars I made the first time! (It is going fast...) I think I will try bottling some for gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flying chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
Used only eight habaneros. It made it not too spicy, but delicious! This was so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Great taste with heat,no yellow mustard so i used 1/4 cup brown mustard only change i made no more store bought for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
A very very good hotsauce. It has a great flavour, nice and spicy. I only used half the habaneros, making it less hot so i can eat it as well. Will make a batch like this again and another batch with the full amount of habaneros next time for my husband, who likes it a lot hotter. It also makes a great marinade for chicken or pork. Good stuff!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Delft, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I sent a sampling of this sauce to fellow college mates and to my dad's boss at Dupont. They all loved it. I like it, but then again I'm not too crazy about entirely destroying my taste buds. Thanks for sharing this recipe. It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Sriracha Sauce

See how to make your own sriracha hot sauce.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States