Bob's Habanero Hot Sauce - Liquid Fire Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Excellent spicy/sweet flavor! Chopping up the Habenero's was a bit of a struggle, had me coughing and sneezing; but it was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Very good, but makes a lot, so if you use it just for cooking, I suggest making a little less than the whole recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msawyer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
First off, this calls for WAAAYYYYY too much mustard. Even with only 3 Tbsp, it's too much. And I am a mustard fan, but WOW. Mustard and hot sauce serve 2 completely different flavor-purposes. Also, too much cumin. The first time I made this, it tasted like mustard-taco. However, I really wanted to make it work because I love hot sauce, so I made it again, and cut out the cumin altogether, and decreased the mustard down to the 3 tbsp I mentioned. Still too much mustard. However, I am determined to use this as a base for a good, fiery sauce. Next time I will use 1-2 tbsp of brown mustard, dijon or spicy like Guldens or Grey Poupon, instead of the regular yellow mustard I've used before. Also, I used 12-14 habaneros WITH seeds, and the heat was still less than tabasco or frank's. It was hotter in my belly than in my mouth. The flavor definitely gets better the longer it sits in the fridge. Also, I have to admit that it's great with food that normally calls for mustard, such as burgers. BTW I followed some other reviewers and used honey instead of molasses, cilantro instead of coriander, added garlic, and even tried simmering it for awhile (which did help a little). Don't get me wrong, it seems like it has serious potential, but I can't believe it has upheld a 5-star rating as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
SO good! i used it to enhance the chilli I made last night and all i can say is wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Great, my only change was to substitute smoked paprika for the regular paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: East Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly and was very impressed. This sauce has a wonderful complexity and balance. Yes, it is hot, but not insanely hot. I had a bumper crop of habaneros this year, and was looking for a good sauce recipe. I am so glad I tried this one first. I doubled the recipe, canned in 1/2 pint jars and gave much of it away as Christmas presents. The biggest complaint I heard was, why didn't you make more? I am making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Little Moose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Excellent hot sauce, I tweaked it just a tad. I used 14 habeneros, 8 seeded and 6 w/seeds. Cut mustard to 1/8c and replaced coriander with a hand full of fresh cilantro. The combination of sweetness and fire is outstanding, a very nice tasty blend. I served this over chilaquiles. Everyone complimented me on this sauce and wanted the recipe. I will definitely keep this recipe and make it often, my thanks to BOB!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JerBear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
THIS IS THE BEST RECIPE I HAVE FOUND YET! I am an avid lover of hot sauce and speding 5-7 $ a bottle I searched for the best concoction I could find and I found it!!!! I followed recipe for the most part, I did use 12 habaneros *with seeds*, went light on the yellow mustard, and instead of using a whole can of peaches, I used half can of peaches and half can of mango in light syrup to add a little twist and sweetness. Fantastic, make sure you have canning jars on had to seal and preserve leftovers! MANY THANKS WILL MAKE THIS OVER AND OVER!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Awesome stuff, and great way to use a full harvest of habaneros! This made several jars of hot sauce that we are still using, and my husband absolutly loves it - even 'paints' his sandwiches with it because it is so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staley, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I took this to work and everyone loved it. People wanted to know if I was selling it. I used smoked paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Sriracha Sauce

See how to make your own sriracha hot sauce.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States