Bob's Habanero Hot Sauce - Liquid Fire Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
I've made this a few times now because it's just that good. Instead of canned peaches, I use fresh and add simple syrup or honey, and I sometimes substitute honey + brown sugar for molasses. I use it in place of taco "seasoning" with chicken or beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Fantastic! The sweetness really tempers the spice without taking it away. This is a great way to use up habeneros from a prolific pepper plant :) Save some small glass jars and bottle it up as presents to give away. I'm getting ready to make my second batch within a month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I love this Hot Sauce. I IS HOT.. but it has a sweetness from the molasses and peaches. Its just enough to counter-act the habaneros. Love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I made this for my dad as a father's day present. I put it in small mason jars. This makes a good amount. I've got plenty of sauce for the both of us. Honestly though, this might be the best hot sauce I've ever had. The taste is unlike anything I've had before. Forget about what others said about there being too much yellow mustard. It's really not that noticeable. I used 12 seeded habaneros it surprisingly was not nearly as hot as I thought it would be. The can of peaches adds a great sweetness to it that allows your taste buds to notice the sweetness of the sauce first, and the heat of the habaneros after. This is absolutely perfect for burritos. I've been using it as my go to sauce for Chipotle burritos instead of the smoked tabasco. I'll most likely be making this sauce again when it runs out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sausage King

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Excellent spicy/sweet flavor! Chopping up the Habenero's was a bit of a struggle, had me coughing and sneezing; but it was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Very good, but makes a lot, so if you use it just for cooking, I suggest making a little less than the whole recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msawyer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
First off, this calls for WAAAYYYYY too much mustard. Even with only 3 Tbsp, it's too much. And I am a mustard fan, but WOW. Mustard and hot sauce serve 2 completely different flavor-purposes. Also, too much cumin. The first time I made this, it tasted like mustard-taco. However, I really wanted to make it work because I love hot sauce, so I made it again, and cut out the cumin altogether, and decreased the mustard down to the 3 tbsp I mentioned. Still too much mustard. However, I am determined to use this as a base for a good, fiery sauce. Next time I will use 1-2 tbsp of brown mustard, dijon or spicy like Guldens or Grey Poupon, instead of the regular yellow mustard I've used before. Also, I used 12-14 habaneros WITH seeds, and the heat was still less than tabasco or frank's. It was hotter in my belly than in my mouth. The flavor definitely gets better the longer it sits in the fridge. Also, I have to admit that it's great with food that normally calls for mustard, such as burgers. BTW I followed some other reviewers and used honey instead of molasses, cilantro instead of coriander, added garlic, and even tried simmering it for awhile (which did help a little). Don't get me wrong, it seems like it has serious potential, but I can't believe it has upheld a 5-star rating as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
SO good! i used it to enhance the chilli I made last night and all i can say is wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Great, my only change was to substitute smoked paprika for the regular paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: East Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly and was very impressed. This sauce has a wonderful complexity and balance. Yes, it is hot, but not insanely hot. I had a bumper crop of habaneros this year, and was looking for a good sauce recipe. I am so glad I tried this one first. I doubled the recipe, canned in 1/2 pint jars and gave much of it away as Christmas presents. The biggest complaint I heard was, why didn't you make more? I am making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Little Moose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Sriracha Sauce

See how to make your own sriracha hot sauce.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States