Bob's Habanero Hot Sauce - Liquid Fire Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Delivers a super kick without being too overpowering. It tastes best after it has had about a week in the fridge to let the flavors blend. I used canned mangoes in light syrup instead of peaches. I also split the 1/2 cup of molasses into 1/4 cup of honey and 1/2 cup of molasses. Other users had said the mustard flavor was too strong, so I cut that in half (to 1/4 cup) as well. Finally, I added 2 teaspoons of garlic powder (I didn't have any fresh garlic for roasting). Will definitely make this again next year! But, I'll use thicker gloves. I felt the heat through the flimsy ones I wore this time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aloha, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Thanks Bob everybody loves this stuff so I recently made a large batch to give as Christmas presents. I made the following changes to the recipe and its even better suited to my taste now. -15 habaneros with seeds -1/4 cup of mustard equal parts spicy and yellow mixed. No mustard taste at all -1/3 cup of molasses and honey mixed 2 parts molasses to 1 part honey -Substituted coriander for Cajun seasoning -Added 3-4 large pan roasted cloves of garlic diced finely after roasting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!! Best ever!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This is a great recipe. If you make it I hope that you it hot, because this is hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Like others have said, this is a great sauce, but I thought the mustard overpowered the rest of it, and it wasn't hot enough. I started by eliminating the mustard and raising the peppers up to 24 on my second batch, but not hot enough! I got the peppers right at 15 but just cut the stems off an threw them in whole. Now that is hot and it has flavor. I also left out the coriander as I could not find any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
It is good! Ours didn't turn out orange. More of a brown color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Good recipe did follow the suggestions of the others cut the mustard in half and also used 17 habaneros left the seeds in them just cut off the stem. Used about 3/4 ratio honey to molasses still came out pretty dark also pretty thin sauce put a good sized dash of liguid smokethat was it came out great cant wait to try it after letting it sit in the fridge for a couple days
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claflin, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
ONE GREAT SAUCE I USED 15 HABANEROS SEEDS AND ALL ALSO ADDED I CUP OF LIGHT CORN OIL AND HEATED THE BATCH FOR THREE MIN USED IT ON CHICKEN WINGS EVERYONE HAD TOO KEEP COMING BACK GOOD HEAT STAYS WITH YOU FORABOUT 3 TO 4 MIN THAN YOU WANT MORE THANK AGAIN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Outstanding. I've been making and consuming this by the quart, after a late season harvest of habaneros. I left out the molasses, added some more peaches and a handful of small fire cracker hot peppers, as well as a garlic clove, a teaspoon of dried garlic flakes, a tablespoon of catsup and a smidge of maple syrup. Unbelievable stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I've been searching for something to make with all of the Habaneros from my garden and this is the perfect recipe! Its it is hot but has excellent flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Sriracha Sauce

See how to make your own sriracha hot sauce.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States