Bobotie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2001
Easy to make, smells and tastes delicious! Friends and family can't resist when I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2001
I thought this recipe was very interesting and just different enough to try. It was quick & easy to assemble. I love the end product and will most definitely make it again. I probably will double the curry powder next time, since the curry flavor is mild to me, and omit the raisins since hubby doesn't like them, tho I thought they married well with the loaf. Unless you don't like the flavor of curry powder, I would definitely recomment this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
I made this recipe for a Thanksgiving dinner in the States and it was thoroughly enjoyed by all. The recipe leaves out where the onions are meant to go but just add them to the ground beef along with everything else. Very tasty, smells great and highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
Yummy and old South African favorite. A friend just brought us some chutney and I wanted to make something special!! This was it, very delicious just like my mother used to make it when I was a kid growing up in South Africa! Perfect meal to go with the freezing weather in Massachusetts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
Good, but for a more authentic version use minced lamb and replace the bay leaves with fragrant fresh lemon or lime leaves. Serve with basmati rice flavoured with turmeric and cinnamon, slightly sweetened and raisins or currants added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
I have made this several times, with some changes. I did not use milk, as mother-in-law is allergic, nor did I use bread. Added the turmeric, and used cider vinegar. I did not bake it, but made it in a frying pan on the stovetop. Still, its one of my family's favorites. Served it with rice and an Asian style coleslaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Carrot River, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
Glad to see you enjoying our traditional South African dish. Just want to mention that the meat is actually fried in a pan along with the onions until a little brown before mixing with the rest of the ingredients. We usually serve it with yellow rice and raisans. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Centurion, Gauteng, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
The recipe is fine, as long as it's kept in mind that, as a trad. dish, there are hundreds of small variations. I use apricot jam instead of chutney, but a fruity, quite sweet chutney is fine. One reviewer was wrong when she said the meat and onions are always fried in a pan first. No, this should be a quick dish (once you have the ingredients) and I certainly have never fried the meat first. One person altered the recipe so much that it could not bear much resemlance to the original! I understand about the milk allergy, but why leave out the breadcrumbs? It improves the texture. Try soy milk next time, or yoghurt, if that's okay. The egg-milk-turmeric custard should be poured over the top about 20 mins. before it comes out of the oven, and is a "characteristic" of this comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
What did I do wrong? I tried the recipe to the letter and it came out heavy and dry with very little topping. More like a dry meat loaf not a light tasty dish. Not at all like the dish we had in South Africa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
I made it with lamb and it was excellent. The kids were a bit unsure of it because it is quite different to the meatloaf they are used it but the adults loved it. I cooked it in a large baking dish and the pan juices (nicely caramelised) were really good. Next time I'll use them to make a sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States