Bob Evans® Sausage Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This is great. I make a couple of changes, but stay pretty true to it. I add a can (or two) more creamed corn and reduce the milk, and I skip the flour altogether. I use whatever light sausage is available at the store, or turkey sausage if I can get it. I also don't bother with the scallions, but that's just because the chowder smells so good that I don't want to wait the 30 seconds to cut some up. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Jena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I really liked this soup, although next time we make it, I will do a few things differently. Next time, I will add at least a cup of frozen corn in addition to the two cans of sweet cream style corn. Also, I used skim milk and it turn out just fine; I think it might have been pretty heavy with whole milk as the recipe called for. I used sweet Turkey sausage which as very good and possibly lower fat/less calories than the bob evans sausage. Finally, I served the soup with shredded cheddar cheese on it and it was very good. I think next time it will be great with more corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okemos, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Photo by sugarbits
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Good Soup. I had to make a few changes to get more flavor! I added 1/4 t. red pepper flakes, 1 t. cumin, 1 t. Garlic powder, 1/4 t. salt, and 1/2 t. Black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarbits

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Avon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Super easy and great flavor! Used low fat sausage so I did not drain it since there was little grease after browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
this is good just like it is, recomended
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Better when you add some red onion, carrot, celery and a bit of potato. I also think red pepper is too sweet with the sweetness of the corn, and it's better with green. I used skim milk and chicken sausage. IT was tastier that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
We have made this several times and the family loves it. We use the Frozen corn instead of the cream corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This was really good. I had some smoked sausage to use up and it was great in the soup. The best thing about this recipe was how quick it is to make. Start to finish was under 30 minutes. Gotta love that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
this was excellent!! I used chicken instead of sausage. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
This was tasty but was certainly missing some ooomph. The sausage did not give this soup the punch I was looking for. So, while it was simmering I added more garlic and crumbled bacon and frozen veggie mix (green beans, red pepper, corn, broccoli and mushrooms). This really helped a lot. I will probably make this again, but may add some fresh herbs or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BroncosFan
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States