Bob Evans® Sausage Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
This soup is amazing. I used hot Italian sausage because that's what I had on hand. That was my only change. Nice and rich. Very satisfying. Had some nice warm crusty rolls with it and all was good. Can't for for lunch tomorrow to have leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I had to do a few substitutions and additions because of what I had on hand/stretching the soup/adding more flavor. Instead of all milk, I used half chicken broth. I also added in two drained, rinsed whole kernel corn, a good amount Frank's Hot Sauce, increased the garlic powder and added a teaspoon of onion powder. I threw everything into the crockpot and just let it go. I will update my review once we have a chance to try it. NOTE: Very good. I really enjoyed it. My issue was for me, there wasn't enough meat. I would make this again but I would increase the sausage or use a quality kielbasa. Also, if you make this, keep in mind that the corn makes for a sweet soup. Adding heat offsets the sweetness of the corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Great recipe. I followed it exactly except used hot wild boar, and it was delicious. Plenty of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I used sage sausage but thought the soup was kind of bland otherwise. Maybe the hot sausage would have been better with the sweetness of the corn?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenjoe613

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Very good and super easy to make. Used frozen corn kernels instead of creamed corn. Topped with fresh parsley and shredded cheese. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This was really good. I had some smoked sausage to use up and it was great in the soup. The best thing about this recipe was how quick it is to make. Start to finish was under 30 minutes. Gotta love that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
this was excellent!! I used chicken instead of sausage. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This is great. I make a couple of changes, but stay pretty true to it. I add a can (or two) more creamed corn and reduce the milk, and I skip the flour altogether. I use whatever light sausage is available at the store, or turkey sausage if I can get it. I also don't bother with the scallions, but that's just because the chowder smells so good that I don't want to wait the 30 seconds to cut some up. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Jena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
this is good just like it is, recomended
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States