Bob Evans® Favorite Chili Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This chili was excellent! The entire family loved it! I used the Original Owen's Sausage instead of Bob Evans sausage. It was very mild and perfect for my 3 year old. Next time I'm going to try the spicy sausage instead. It was a little bland so I added some Tabasco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
this has been a recipe for chili that has been used in my family for many, many years. my grandma has digestive issues with beef, and so she always made this recipe with mild pork breakfast sausage. a few notes on how i always make it... i always make a double batch. it's so inexpensive, and freezes so well, it just seems silly not to. we also make with turkey sausage for a couple reasons; it is leaner and healthier, and because it has less fat it is much meatier and chunkier. i use fresh garlic, but that's a personal preference. always use salt free, high quality chili powder and salt to your liking at the table. we always serve with shredded cheese, hot sauce and srirachi sauce at the table. not a chili cookoff winner by any means, but delicious, inexpensive, and immensely customizable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This is my husband's favorite. He is a chili fan! We are somewhat health conscious, so I modified it a little. I do 1 lb lean beef and 1 lb turkey sausage. I then double everything else. This feeds a ton! This is absolutely a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I tried it this weekend and the whole family loved it! I chose to be a little haevy handed with the chili powder and cumin and added some ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I love this recipe! I found it a few years ago and have been making it every Fall and Winter since then. I never have to change a thing to get perfect flavor. It's best with sausage, but when you combine sausage and elk meat in a double-recipe it's absolutely brilliant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaden Ravenscraft

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Ponder, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This was delicious!!!! My husband and one year old son loved it! The only thing I changed was I used a pound and a half of sausage & no onion. Very good. I will be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Fast, inexpensive and tasty! I followed the recipe EXACTLY. I used hot sausage and still would have liked more chili powder. Next time I'll add more. However, if you like your chili mild, the spices would be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
This was an easy, good recipe. I added some ground chuck, and also chopped green pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
This is ok. I wound up adding a can of salsa to mine to give it more flavor. I prefer other chili recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States