Bo Nuong Xa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Very Good! The produce section didn't have fresh lemon grass. I bought some in a jar and used about 2 to 3 tablespoons. It tasted the same. Also, in response to other reviews, discard the sliced lemon grass with the marinade before eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This was very good. I baked it instead of grilling in a pan and I did not even need to use the sauce i made because it was nice in the juices left over from the marinade. I also had to marinade it for 5 hours because I was ou of the house. Came out very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Used 1 lb meat and 3 stalks of lemon grass, will def use more lemon grass next time. Served with Spicy Bok Choy with Garlic Sauce to which I added more veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
We liked this a lot. I wasn't sure how it is supposed to be eaten. But I made the rice vermicelli and noauc cham according to Rachel1070's directions, and we had all the leafy herbs, green onions and lettuce to accompany. Labor intensive. Very healthy. I also made Vietnamese fresh spring rolls as an appetizer. I just wish I knew exactly how you are supposed to put everything together and how to serve this. Are you supposed to wrap it in lettuce?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
We followed another reviewer advice and used lemon juice instead of lemon grass. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
This was pretty good. My first time to venture into "Vietnamese" cooking but it was good. A different twist to steak. My family (even picky eaters)rated it a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARFISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Demopolis, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
I added about 2 inches of grated ginger to the marinade, and we cooked these over an open fire while camping. To serve, we tossed the meat with rice vermicelli, fresh julienne carrots, red peppers, snap peas and green onions, mint, corriander and basil, and topped with crushed peanuts and Nuoc Cham sauce (crush together 1 clove garlic, 2.5 tsp sugar and a pinch of chili pepper powder; add 2 tbsp fish sauce, 1/8 fresh lime juiced, 2.5 tbsp water or to taste). This was absolutely spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
My husband is Vietnamese and I was so happy when he said that this tasted just like his mom's!! His only suggestion was to serve it with vermicelli noodles as opposed to rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
I'm Vietnamese so I know authentic asian bbq. this is pretty good. i would grab the lemon grass if at all possible because that's the kicker. some people have subbed for lemon juice. don't let the "lemon" in lemon grass fool you. they ate totally different things. When I bbq i usually bbq a few skewers first then adjust the marinade to taste. If you try this recipe, feel blessed cause we don't be giving out ancient secrets out all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pho

See how to make authentic South Vietnamese-style Pho noodle soup.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

London Broil II

See how to make a flavorful marinade for an amazing grilled London Broil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States