Bo Nuong Xa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2001
Excellent dish! I had no grill, skewers or lemon grass, so I used lemon juice on the steak, baked it for 20 minutes at 350 degrees, and then combined it with the vegetable portion in a large bowl. Man, this was great food! Try it with authentic fried rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2005
I was surprised how flavorful and moist these skewers were. I had to replace the lemongrass with a good squeeze of fresh lemon juice and added a little garlic chili paste and marinated them overnight. I also omitted the garnishes and the Nuaoc Cham sauce. It was still delicious. Served it with Chicken Satay and Peanut Sauce and grilled asparagus over brown rice with Ume Plum Vinegar. I can't wait for lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2001
Made this for family and guests - everyone raved over it - even the kids asked for seconds! I partially froze the beef so I could slice it nice and thin. I also doubled the marinade and used dried lemon grass instead of fresh. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2001
The flavors here are awesome, but if kids will be eating this too, I'd put some of the marinade for the kids's portions in a seperate dish before adding the pepper called for in the recipe. Use most of it in the adults marinade but add just a sprinkle for the kids. Also, gently pound the lemongrass stalks with a mallet or hammer to help them release their flavor once chopped. This dish will definitely impress guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
My husband is Vietnamese and I was so happy when he said that this tasted just like his mom's!! His only suggestion was to serve it with vermicelli noodles as opposed to rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
Meat was very good. Could not find sauce though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
I added about 2 inches of grated ginger to the marinade, and we cooked these over an open fire while camping. To serve, we tossed the meat with rice vermicelli, fresh julienne carrots, red peppers, snap peas and green onions, mint, corriander and basil, and topped with crushed peanuts and Nuoc Cham sauce (crush together 1 clove garlic, 2.5 tsp sugar and a pinch of chili pepper powder; add 2 tbsp fish sauce, 1/8 fresh lime juiced, 2.5 tbsp water or to taste). This was absolutely spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
This recipe turned out great - after I realised that you don't use the whole stalk of the lemongrass! lol. I made it ahead of time and froze it until I needed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
This recipe was awesome!!! I changed the following: I toasted the sesame seeds, and used pork loin cut into small chunks and marinated it for a full day, stir fried it in the marinade, which had pretty much soaked into the meat, over high temp very quickly. Would definately recommend this recipe for somthing new!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pho

See how to make authentic South Vietnamese-style Pho noodle soup.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

London Broil II

See how to make a flavorful marinade for an amazing grilled London Broil.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States