Blushing Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
Great recipe! I actually use a variety of apples to achieve a more blushed look (and for taste). I only cook for about 15-20 and use my NutriBullet to puree, as we prefer a more solid texture. If you use apple juice instead of water, you can cut the sugar a bit. I've done it both ways and both work out just fine. I add extra cinnamon because my kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
I really recomend this for peolle who have kids!! Its really really awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Fischer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I love leaving the skins on when making applesauce. I did cut the sweetener, adding honey instead of sugar. I think real maple syrup would work well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I always have and always will cook the apples with their skins on and then put them through a foley mill to finish. It's the way my mother made it and I have never liked applesauce made without the skins, whether home made or bottled store bought. I've used many different varieties of apples this way. The finished color varies with the type of apple used and the color of its skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
This is very similar to my recipe. However the point of home made applesauce is to reduce sugar intake! Cook the apples for about an hour over low heat, or until fruit is mushy. Use food grinder to puree fruit and remove skins. Add cinammon while warm then refrigerate for best taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth A Bernstein
Home Town: Westfield, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA
Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This is not my favorite applesauce recipe though it was acceptable. I reduced the sugar by half and it was still VERY sweet. I think the extra step with the skins was too much labor for no blush. After I added the cinnamon, it turned a bit brown. If you like a very sweet applesauce this would do it though. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
this was soo good. I did however only use 1/2 cup of sugar, which was just enough! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
Absolutely Fantastic!!! I didn't even add the cinnamon and nutmeg. It didn't need it. And the sweetness is just perfect. We ate it warm right after I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ulster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
It was great! Nothing beats fresh applesauce in the fall. I recommending cutting the sugar in half, though. It was just a little too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marathon, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sarah's Applesauce

Try this crowd-pleasing recipe for homemade applesauce.

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Cheesy Kale Chips

Homemade, crispy, oven-baked kale chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States