Blueberry Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
Moist, delicious and YUMMY! I've made without altering and it is delicious but ofcourse I always take it to another level which is even YUMMIER! I used 3 cups of zucchini instead of 2, 2 cups white sugar and 1/4 cup brown sugar instead of all white sugar and added a sprinkle of nutmeg. I also make a crumb topping( 2/3 cup flour, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup white sugar 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 cup chopped walnuts and 1 stick softened butter-mix altogether with hand) and sprinkle all over the top of the loaves before baking. Now- that is one heck of a good loaf of blueberry zucchini bread! Will not leave my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1657 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
I made in 2 large loaf pans and baked for 1 hour 20 min. I didn't change anything else and it was perfect!!! We all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1095 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
This was wonderful! I did make changes: half white/half whole wheat flour, used 1/2 cup canola oil and 1/2 cup applesauce, and less sugar. I also made a crumb topping with equal parts flour, sugar and oatmeal mixed with cinnamon and enough smart balance spread to make it crumbly. This was to die for, really, I couldn't stay away! I will make this again and again! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
953 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
this recipie is the best zucchini bread recipie i have ever had. 2 things that i do to kind of kick it up a notch is i use half applesause and half oil, and i mix together 1 teaspoon cinnamon, 1 teaspoon brown sugar, 1 teaspoon white sugar and 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg and i sprinkle it in the loaf pans prior to pouring in the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
566 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Wonderful recipe and an ingenous way to use up the mountains of zucchini that come out of summer gardens! Increased the zucchini to 2.5 cups and ensured that I squeezed the water out of the zucchini by lightly salting it and letting it "weep" for 20 minutes or so. I changed the flour ingredient to: 1/2 white flour and 1/2 whole wheat flour and used 1/2 cup of applesauce and 1/2 cup oil vs 1 cup of oil for a healthier recipe. On a side note; to prevent your blueberries from sinking to the bottom of the pan, coat them in flour before adding. This will help them bind to the batter. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
448 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
This is a great recipe as is, and also works well with some healty substitutions (1/2 whole wheat flour 1/2 white, 1/2 applesauce for the oil). I have also made muffins from this recipe, just up the baking powder to 3 tbsp for a more cake-like texture. I also like to sprinkle them with a little raw sugar before baking to add a nice little crunch. Thanks so much for this great recipe! A family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
366 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
We loved the bread. I used 1/2 c. oil and 1/2 c. applesauce. I also cut the sugar to 2 cups and cinnamon to 1/4 tsp. I've made large loaves, mini loaves and mini muffins. They've all turned out great. This recipe freezes well too. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
243 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I made this twice. The first time it was terrible! I made a half recipe for a standard loaf but there wasn’t enough batter to fill the pan adequately, so I had to sub with a smaller pan that just didn’t seem right to me. As it baked it rose unevenly, with a square, level top, not the nicely rounded top it should have. After repeatedly checking it for doneness I finally gave up – I didn’t want to mess with it anymore. As I turned it out of the pan directly into the garbage can rather than onto a cooling rack, it somehow finally dawned on me that I forgot to include the zucchini in this Blueberry ZUCCHINI Bread! So I tried it again. It was just the right amount of batter for an 8x4” loaf pan. As it baked it was fragrant and developed a nicely risen, rounded top. It was moist, with a compact yet tender crumb, chock full of blueberries and pretty specks of zucchini. It was full of flavor, delightfully sweet with a delicate hint of cinnamon. It was perfect. I am not. Don’t forget the zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
224 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
Just made these for the first time this morning, but followed some advice from previous reviews. Substituted half the oil with applesauce, used only 1 1/2 cups sugar and sprinkled a combination of 2T sugar and 2T brown sugar on top. Baked as muffins for 25 minutes. This recipe made about 21 muffins. Next time, I'll use a little less blueberries--maybe 1 1/2 cups. Great recipe! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
188 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nomadic Missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antigo, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
Everyone loved muffins - cut sugar to 1 3/4 and subbed splenda. Subbed 1/2 applesauce for oil. Subbed 1/2 whole wheat for flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,624) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Zucchini Bread

Blueberries and zucchini are married perfectly in these summertime loaves!

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States