Blueberry Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
Moist, delicious and YUMMY! I've made without altering and it is delicious but ofcourse I always take it to another level which is even YUMMIER! I used 3 cups of zucchini instead of 2, 2 cups white sugar and 1/4 cup brown sugar instead of all white sugar and added a sprinkle of nutmeg. I also make a crumb topping( 2/3 cup flour, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup white sugar 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 cup chopped walnuts and 1 stick softened butter-mix altogether with hand) and sprinkle all over the top of the loaves before baking. Now- that is one heck of a good loaf of blueberry zucchini bread! Will not leave my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1653 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
I made in 2 large loaf pans and baked for 1 hour 20 min. I didn't change anything else and it was perfect!!! We all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1093 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
This was wonderful! I did make changes: half white/half whole wheat flour, used 1/2 cup canola oil and 1/2 cup applesauce, and less sugar. I also made a crumb topping with equal parts flour, sugar and oatmeal mixed with cinnamon and enough smart balance spread to make it crumbly. This was to die for, really, I couldn't stay away! I will make this again and again! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
953 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
this recipie is the best zucchini bread recipie i have ever had. 2 things that i do to kind of kick it up a notch is i use half applesause and half oil, and i mix together 1 teaspoon cinnamon, 1 teaspoon brown sugar, 1 teaspoon white sugar and 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg and i sprinkle it in the loaf pans prior to pouring in the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
566 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Wonderful recipe and an ingenous way to use up the mountains of zucchini that come out of summer gardens! Increased the zucchini to 2.5 cups and ensured that I squeezed the water out of the zucchini by lightly salting it and letting it "weep" for 20 minutes or so. I changed the flour ingredient to: 1/2 white flour and 1/2 whole wheat flour and used 1/2 cup of applesauce and 1/2 cup oil vs 1 cup of oil for a healthier recipe. On a side note; to prevent your blueberries from sinking to the bottom of the pan, coat them in flour before adding. This will help them bind to the batter. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
447 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
This is a great recipe as is, and also works well with some healty substitutions (1/2 whole wheat flour 1/2 white, 1/2 applesauce for the oil). I have also made muffins from this recipe, just up the baking powder to 3 tbsp for a more cake-like texture. I also like to sprinkle them with a little raw sugar before baking to add a nice little crunch. Thanks so much for this great recipe! A family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
365 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
We loved the bread. I used 1/2 c. oil and 1/2 c. applesauce. I also cut the sugar to 2 cups and cinnamon to 1/4 tsp. I've made large loaves, mini loaves and mini muffins. They've all turned out great. This recipe freezes well too. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
243 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I made this twice. The first time it was terrible! I made a half recipe for a standard loaf but there wasn’t enough batter to fill the pan adequately, so I had to sub with a smaller pan that just didn’t seem right to me. As it baked it rose unevenly, with a square, level top, not the nicely rounded top it should have. After repeatedly checking it for doneness I finally gave up – I didn’t want to mess with it anymore. As I turned it out of the pan directly into the garbage can rather than onto a cooling rack, it somehow finally dawned on me that I forgot to include the zucchini in this Blueberry ZUCCHINI Bread! So I tried it again. It was just the right amount of batter for an 8x4” loaf pan. As it baked it was fragrant and developed a nicely risen, rounded top. It was moist, with a compact yet tender crumb, chock full of blueberries and pretty specks of zucchini. It was full of flavor, delightfully sweet with a delicate hint of cinnamon. It was perfect. I am not. Don’t forget the zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
221 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
Just made these for the first time this morning, but followed some advice from previous reviews. Substituted half the oil with applesauce, used only 1 1/2 cups sugar and sprinkled a combination of 2T sugar and 2T brown sugar on top. Baked as muffins for 25 minutes. This recipe made about 21 muffins. Next time, I'll use a little less blueberries--maybe 1 1/2 cups. Great recipe! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
188 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nomadic Missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antigo, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
Everyone loved muffins - cut sugar to 1 3/4 and subbed splenda. Subbed 1/2 applesauce for oil. Subbed 1/2 whole wheat for flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,617) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Zucchini Bread

Blueberries and zucchini are married perfectly in these summertime loaves!

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States