Blueberry Waffles with Fast Blueberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
Wonderful syrup recipe! I didn't make the waffles this time but served the syrup over homemade blueberry pancakes. My husband and I are trying to eat a bit healthier and are so glad to have found a replacement to Aunt Jemima's (which has more sugar than I realized). I used frozen berries and a bit less honey than recommended. I also did not have OJ on hand and used a tropical berry juice. Not bad at all but look forward to trying the original recipe. This syrup will from now on be part of our Sunday post-church brunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
I didn't make the waffles but I used the blueberry sauce recipe and it was amazing! I used frozen blueberries and couldn't beleive how easy it was to make! I'll definitely make this when we have company over:) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reiscakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
I was just looking for blueberry syrup for the cheesecake I bought and found this recipe. Excellent! Been making this for a few times already. Hubby never got tired of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2003
I have had trouble finding a reliable recipe for homemade waffles...until now. This recipe is easy to make, delicious, and nutritious compared to conventional waffles. The batter needs a little sweetening - I added about 2 Tb sugar with good results. The sauce is head and shoulders above any commercially prepared syrup or preserves you can buy. I used naked juice (blueberry/pomegranate) instead of OJ, and huckleberry honey. Fantastic! Cook about 5-6 minutes on standard non-stick waffle iron. I did not wait the whole 30 minutes...too hungry; it was great even after 10-15 minutes wait. Try this one and you will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2003
This was a good recipe, and if you love blueberries you should love this recipe. For personal preferences I will add some sugar to the batter so that the waffles taste slightly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2003
We have been using the blueberry sauce recipe in our family for generations... It's the best. We add a tsp of almond extract to the sauce though, it really enhances the flavor of the blueberrys. I can't wait to try the waffle recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2003
I didn't make the waffles in this recipe, but I make the blueberry sauce ALL THE TIME. It's so quick and easy and has more vitamins than the ordinary syrup. I probably could make the same sauce with raspberries, too, but I haven't done that yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
I have made the waffles twice now. Yum! For the sauce I used a bag of mixed (blue,black,straw and raspberry) berries. I didn't have orange juice so I used a "tropical" orange drink. My 8 year old initially refused to try the sauce. Now I have been instructed to never buy syrup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
I totally enjoyed the blueberry sauce. I find that I don't eat waffles and pancakes because the syrup is too sweet and there are too many calories. This sauce is easy and delicious. It has become a fave breakfast for me. I even like it with plain toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
These were delicious; very good. I'm a healthy eater and I'm always looking for recipes that either are or can be made healthy, this recipe is both. It's healthy on it's own by containing yummy blueberries and to make it healthier, I exchanged a bit of the white flour for whole wheat flour, used low-fat margerine, and for the egg yolks I used better'n egg product(just enough to replace the yolks) and still kept the egg whites. After reading the previous reviews I too also added more blueberries to the batter. I highly recommend this recipe, it's definitely one of the best waffle recipe's I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Blueberry Sauce

See how to make a delicious blueberry sauce for breakfast and dessert.

Rack of Lamb with Blueberry Sauce

Roasted lamb served with an easy blueberry, red wine, and butter pan sauce.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States