Blueberry Waffles with Fast Blueberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Didn't try the waffles, but the sauce was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by agziller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merced, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
This waffle recipe really has a lot of potential. After reading a lot of the reviews I added 1T of sugar to the batter. I did not want bland tasting waffles. I used buttermilk and I beat the heck out of the egg whites until it was foamy, frothy and stiff, about 2 minutes. I added the egg whites to the batter and then the fresh blueberries last. I folded the blueberries gently into the batter. I scooped portions of the batter onto my waffle grill and cooked until it was golden brown. I ended up with 12 waffles. The waffle is pretty with the blueberries cooked right in. Some were oozing with its purple berry juices right out of the waffles- nice. The waffles itself tastes good with the addition of the sugar. However, I strongly feel that the star of this recipe is the blueberry sauce! It is perfectly sweet, with the right touch of honey and fresh blueberries. I love the addition of the fresh orange juice. The sauce is easy to prepare with a thick consistency. It is a smooth, beautiful purple blueish color. Next time I may need to double the amount of sauce because it was just enough for 4 waffles. The waffles with blueberry sauce makes for a really nice presentation. Based on the original recipe I give it a 3 stars rating while my family's feedback is a 5 stars. With the addition of the 1T sugar plus the delicious blueberry sauce everyone raved about, I feel it is more of a 4 star rating. I would make this again with my adjustments and even use the sauce for other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
These were just okay. Judging from the batter, I thought these were going to be light and fluffy with a slight crunch on the outside. But they had no color, no crispness. They were, for lack of a better description, limp, with very little flavor. I think they would be better with some sugar. The sauce, is amazing. I would make the sauce again, with the great citrus flavor, to go on other waffles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Note: Rating is for sauce only! This is a wonderfully easy sauce. I usually add way more blueberries and use whatever citrusy juice on hand - typically country time lemonade. After reading the waffle reviews, I stick to Bisquick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Used good ol' Bisquick for my waffles, but wanted to try the blueberry sauce-It was good, but not very blueberry-y. We mostly tasted orange juice...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I made the blueberry sauce to go with the "Wild Rice Pecan Waffles" from this site. I added blueberries to the waffles as well. These two recipes are awesome. I highly recommend trying this combo. Thanks swizlesticks for an awesome blueberry sauce! I can't rate the waffles obviously so am rating it purely for the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I prefer Bisquick waffles to these ones but the sauce is amazingly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QTSunDoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Emeryville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tara Marshall Johnson
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
Superb! Very easy and quick to make. I didn't wait the 30 minutes either for the batter and it turned out fine. However, I would put in a whole cup of blueberries to the batter if not more (but I really like the blueberry flavor).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Marshall Johnson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Papillion, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Only made the sauce. Very good. Used on bob's red mill gluten free pancakes with blueberries mixed in the batter. Might reduce OJ slightly. Just a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
YUM. This review is only for the blueberry sauce- I didn't make the waffles. Anyways. It's good! It's easy! Make it! Next time I'll double the recipe since I was very, very sad when the sauce was all gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by havenleah

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sauce

See how to make a delicious blueberry sauce for breakfast and dessert.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Rack of Lamb with Blueberry Sauce

Roasted lamb served with an easy blueberry, red wine, and butter pan sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States