Blueberry Waffles with Fast Blueberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I used buttermilk and I opted out of using blueberries in the actual waffle recipe only because I didn't want to clean up the mess of my waffle maker. I used Trop 50 orange juice in the sauce. Both the waffles and the sauce were outstanding.....my boys ate themselves silly and said this is my best waffle recipe EVER. The waffles turned out crispy on the outside and tender on the inside--perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
The sauce was great, but the waffles were mediocre. I did add 1/2 cup of sugar and 1 tsp cinnamon. That made a big difference. It sweetened the waffles just a little bit (enough to add a little more flavor).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
I have made about 5 waffle recipes recently, searching for the perfect one for my new highly-rated waffle iron. I needed waffles that freeze well because I like to make a big batch and pull one out of the freezer everyone morning. I'm happy to say my search is over. I made this with chocolate chips and no sauce, but I'm sure it's great with the blueberries, as called for. Great hot and fresh, and great from frozen, too. Thanks, Wendy L!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
The waffles were a 2 star but the sauce was a definate 4.5! I can't tell what made the waffles so mediocre. Maybe some vanilla and a bit of sugar would help? But the sauce was definately awesome. I also used frozen organic blueberries since the fresh ones are out of season. I will probably find an alternate waffle recipe but still use the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBLUELINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
The waffles earned 1 star, but the sauce was outstanding. My 19 month old loves blueberries and was eating the sauce by the spoonfulls. Will definatly be making the sauce again, but will serve will different waffles or pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk River, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sartell, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
I didn't make the blueberry sauce as I felt like having syrup that day, but this recipe was VERY bland and dull. Not enjoyable at all. They also did not stay crispy once out of the waffle maker. Sorry, not a keeper in my books.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crawley, Sussex, England, U.K.
Living In: New Hamburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
The waffle has such a light and fluffy texture. I made the batter the night before and stored in fridge so I didn't have to wait in the morning. The sauce is just perfect. So thick and full of flavors. Leftover sauce went well on yogurt as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
This waffle recipe really has a lot of potential. After reading a lot of the reviews I added 1T of sugar to the batter. I did not want bland tasting waffles. I used buttermilk and I beat the heck out of the egg whites until it was foamy, frothy and stiff, about 2 minutes. I added the egg whites to the batter and then the fresh blueberries last. I folded the blueberries gently into the batter. I scooped portions of the batter onto my waffle grill and cooked until it was golden brown. I ended up with 12 waffles. The waffle is pretty with the blueberries cooked right in. Some were oozing with its purple berry juices right out of the waffles- nice. The waffles itself tastes good with the addition of the sugar. However, I strongly feel that the star of this recipe is the blueberry sauce! It is perfectly sweet, with the right touch of honey and fresh blueberries. I love the addition of the fresh orange juice. The sauce is easy to prepare with a thick consistency. It is a smooth, beautiful purple blueish color. Next time I may need to double the amount of sauce because it was just enough for 4 waffles. The waffles with blueberry sauce makes for a really nice presentation. Based on the original recipe I give it a 3 stars rating while my family's feedback is a 5 stars. With the addition of the 1T sugar plus the delicious blueberry sauce everyone raved about, I feel it is more of a 4 star rating. I would make this again with my adjustments and even use the sauce for other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2002
I only made the sauce, but it was absolutely delicious and a great change from syrup. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
I did not have blueberries so I used cranberries. This is a very good recipe. Our waffle iron hasn't been out of the cupboard for over ten years. It was good to use it again. I can't wait to try the blueberry syrup and to make the batter with blueberries. I will make a special trip to the store next time if I don't have blueberries on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sauce

See how to make a delicious blueberry sauce for breakfast and dessert.

Rack of Lamb with Blueberry Sauce

Roasted lamb served with an easy blueberry, red wine, and butter pan sauce.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States