Blueberry Turnovers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I was hoping this would somehow taste better than blueberry mush inside a crescent roll, but it didn't. It was fairly simple, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Photo by Milo
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
This is a great simple recipe/idea. Like the reviews suggested, I also simply mixed the blueberries with the sugar in a bowl instead of adding them separately to the dough. If you pack too many blueberries in, it does leak out and can make the pastry soggy. It's definitely important to seal the pastry well before baking! I've used other fruits with this too, but a real favorite was Nutella :). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Milo

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Delicious! I did have some leftover cheese filling from a coffeecake I made but I know they would be great without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Super duper simple. I don't know why I can't seem to get my little triangles folded up nice and neat and pretty like other cooks, but crescent rolls are sort of my nemesis in the kitchen. This time was no exception as the rolls popped open as soon as I got the paper off one side and they came apart in the tube, so I started with a mess. I managed to get them all out in as much of 1 piece as it would but they sure aren't pretty. Good thing my family cares more about flavor than appearances. I drizzled these with a homemade vanilla glaze. My hubby was most impressed with these gems so it was worth the struggle with the crescent dough. I'd make this again even wrestling with the pesky roll dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Dreamy sighs - these were absolutely wonderful! I used frozen berries (simply rinsed to soften) tossed with the powdered sugar. Once done, we topped with leftover berries, some blueberry syrup (from AR), and home made whipped cream. To die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
These are amazing!! I can only make them when I am having people over or else I end up eating them all!! I used frozen blueberries and cooked just a few minutes longer and they were wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
These were pretty good. Needs something to make them great,just not sure what that is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florence, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
These are awesome!! My kids loved them! I made the blueberry, then ran out of berries. Then, I tried bananas and they were even better!! We also sprinkled with 1/2 pack of stevia instead of sugar. YUMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Hardly what I would call a turnover. My husband is a big connoisseur of turnovers and admitted they tasted like dinner rolls filled with blueberries. Turnovers are supposed to be big and flaky. Next time I'll try making them with puff pastry dough. Sorry, but quite frankly, I don't see this recipe falling anywhere close to the 4 & 5 star ratings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Flaky crescent rolls, tart blueberries, sweet frosting. This is fabulous! So quick and easy! I made a homemade lemon frosting for the topping and it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States