Blueberry Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
Great recipe, easy to make with strawberries. If you alter the number of servings, don't add 4 cups of water in the second step. I had to use cornstarch to thicken it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2003
This is a wonderful recipe to top off Angel Food cake with. I substituted orange rind for the lemon rind, and apple/white grape juice for the lemon juice. I did not strain the pulp because I wanted to retain the fiber. I will save this recipe and use it again, perhaps as written next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2004
This was very good, I did add some cornstarch to thicken it a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Very nice topping. Will use this recipe again. Mashed the berries but did not discard anything - goes against the grain to throw good food out and besides, we like a sauce with texture. Added cornstarch as I don't like a watery sauce. I note the recipe's author acknowledges the need for cornstarch to thicken the sauce - is there no way to amend a recipe once its published?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
Did great needed a bit of cornstarch or arrowroot to thicken but a good mixture and procedure. Chef Robear
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Hill

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln City, Oregon, USA
Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I dunno if I did something wrong but this came out wayyyyy to watery, I used half the water recomended and it was still more like a liquid than a sauce or topping. it did taste VERY good though, I still poured it on my cheescake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
As the person who posted this recipe, I've found, after some reviews, that you do need to add cornstarch to this recipe. I would say probably 1 tablespoon per cup of water. Thank you for the reviews and improving on this recipe over the years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corralitos, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Excellent topping. I used strawberries instead and it turned out fabulous. I added some constarch, as others had suggested. We used it over pound cake and vanilla ice cream...YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XmasBeba

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
Delicious and easy! Great for topping off any kind of breakfast, including toast, waffles, and pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sauce

See how to make a delicious blueberry sauce for breakfast and dessert.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States