Blueberry Stuffed French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I gets three stars for flavor. I give it 1 star for baking instructions. 350 for 20-30 minutes is no where near enough time. I'd say more like 400 degrees for 45 minutes. taking the foil off half way thru the cooking time. At 350, I baked for almost an hour and it's still very soggy on the bottom and barely cooked on top. Maybe the milk ratio should be looked at more closely. Unsure. Will try again and play with the cook times. I did add cinnamon to the sugared topping. I like that addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
203 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendyearwood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I cut the recipe in half, used whole wheat bread, and added a lot more blueberries than called for (it's high blueberry season!), and baked for 50 minutes - still turned out delicious! No time to make compote - we served with blueberry syrup we had on hand, and maple syrup, too, as an option, along with some whipped cream. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
I cube all of the bread. Place half of cubes in a greased pan. Use 2 8oz. cream cheese cut in cubes. Place over bread. Add blueberries (I don't measure) cover with rest of cubes. Beat 6 eggs. add milk 1/2 cup maple syrup--no sugar, vanilla and cinnamon I warm the maple syrup and add the cinnamon and stir until disolved. Pour over mixture, cover with foil and refrigerate over night. Take out 1/2 hour before baking. Bake 20 minutes with foil on. Remove foil and bake 20 minutes loner or until knife in middle comes out clean I add the blueberries to the cooking miture and continue cooking on alower heat about 5 minutes.. They burst and make for a more flaverable mixture. I also add a little cinnamon. Remove from heat and add butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Good dish in need of some tweaking I think. First of all, this recipe screams for cinnamon. Add it to the whisked milk and egg mixture before pouring over bread. I used about a teaspoon, but use the amount that you and your family enjoy. Use whole wheat bread for a better texture, flavor and to make it healthier, making sure all the bread is saturated in the egg mixture before covering and refrigerating overnight. Add a bit more cinnamon to the sugar you sprinkle on top right before baking. I also double the blueberries in this recipe. It will be mostly bread if you don't. Nothing wrong with that, but I adore blueberries and can never have to many of them! The compote should also have double the blueberries, but I did cut back on the sugar to 3/4 cup. It would be just too cloyingly sweet to me using the full cup. And you can add the blueberries as soon as the sugar and cornstarch dissolve in the water. I like my blueberries cooked into the compote, not just warmed up in the sugar water. You will get a much nicer flavor and consistency this way. Also, add a teaspoon of lemon juice right before the blueberries - it will really make a nice difference to your compote. Bake approximately 40 minutes. With a few (okay, a lot!) of changes, this is a stellar dish! This would also work wonderfully with apple or peach slices sauted in some butter and cinnamon in place of the blueberries and compote. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Highly recommend! Added cinnamon to the sugar topping. Baked it for about 45 mins to get it good and cooked. Took the cover off the last 10 min to let the top get a little crunchy. The cream cheese gave it a creaminess. Everyone loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
The secret to this recipe is to push the bread down into the milk/egg mixture to make sure that everything is moist overnight. By doing this, there will be no dried out pieces of bread on top. I routinely make this recipe and it always gets rave reviews. Cynda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Broomall, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lewes, Delaware, USA
Photo by Chrissy
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This recipe was absolutely delicious. I added a bit of cinnamon along with the sugar and nutmeg to the top. It's one of my new favorites! It actually took almost 2 hours to bake, rather than the 30 minutes described, so time accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
3 cups of milk and only 3 eggs?????? This recipe took way longer than the designated time and was still runny. Doesn't look at all appetizing for Easter brunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Extra special. Delicious. Use whole wheat bread for firmer consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I baked this in a stoneware casserole and found it took much longer to cook through in the middle. I served it at a Prayer Breakfast and church and the pastor even had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Platte, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Redmond, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mascarpone Stuffed French Toast with Peaches

Elegant stuffed French toast is served with a delectable peach sauce.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States