Blueberry Stuffed French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Amazing! I followed other advice and baked for 45 minutes at 350, taking foil off with 10 minutes to go. Instead of nutmeg (which I was out of!), I used cinnamon - This breakfast was amazing - very rich, but everyone loved it. Will be making more frequently for sure. And the compote (which we weren't sure about), added to the amazing taste of this breakfast dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Just made for the first time. Made the mistake of not reading through the entire recipe this morning and found I was supposed to let sit overnight in the frig. Didn't have time to do this, let it sit for maybe 30 min. and made the recipe. Everyone loved it. I also added cinnamon to the recipie as another review suggested. Good idea! Will probably cut back on the sugar next time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
very good base with some changes: I cut the sugar back to 3/4 of what is called for, decreased cream cheese to 6 oz (after spreading what looked like a decent amoount on the bread slices I still had about 2 oz left over) and doubled the blueberries. Did half cinnamon and half nutmeg as the berries really wanted cinnamon and I don't care for strong nutmeg flavor...only want a hint of it. With that it was much improved. I will make it again but one more change I will add next time is to add a little lemon zest as well. 3 stars as written since I did need to make quite a few changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Good dish in need of some tweaking I think. First of all, this recipe screams for cinnamon. Add it to the whisked milk and egg mixture before pouring over bread. I used about a teaspoon, but use the amount that you and your family enjoy. Use whole wheat bread for a better texture, flavor and to make it healthier, making sure all the bread is saturated in the egg mixture before covering and refrigerating overnight. Add a bit more cinnamon to the sugar you sprinkle on top right before baking. I also double the blueberries in this recipe. It will be mostly bread if you don't. Nothing wrong with that, but I adore blueberries and can never have to many of them! The compote should also have double the blueberries, but I did cut back on the sugar to 3/4 cup. It would be just too cloyingly sweet to me using the full cup. And you can add the blueberries as soon as the sugar and cornstarch dissolve in the water. I like my blueberries cooked into the compote, not just warmed up in the sugar water. You will get a much nicer flavor and consistency this way. Also, add a teaspoon of lemon juice right before the blueberries - it will really make a nice difference to your compote. Bake approximately 40 minutes. With a few (okay, a lot!) of changes, this is a stellar dish! This would also work wonderfully with apple or peach slices sauted in some butter and cinnamon in place of the blueberries and compote. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
The secret to this recipe is to push the bread down into the milk/egg mixture to make sure that everything is moist overnight. By doing this, there will be no dried out pieces of bread on top. I routinely make this recipe and it always gets rave reviews. Cynda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Broomall, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lewes, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
I cube all of the bread. Place half of cubes in a greased pan. Use 2 8oz. cream cheese cut in cubes. Place over bread. Add blueberries (I don't measure) cover with rest of cubes. Beat 6 eggs. add milk 1/2 cup maple syrup--no sugar, vanilla and cinnamon I warm the maple syrup and add the cinnamon and stir until disolved. Pour over mixture, cover with foil and refrigerate over night. Take out 1/2 hour before baking. Bake 20 minutes with foil on. Remove foil and bake 20 minutes loner or until knife in middle comes out clean I add the blueberries to the cooking miture and continue cooking on alower heat about 5 minutes.. They burst and make for a more flaverable mixture. I also add a little cinnamon. Remove from heat and add butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Extra special. Delicious. Use whole wheat bread for firmer consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody Brown Feist

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Very good! Served it at a birthday brunch to rave reviews, even by some who usually aren't so complimentary :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mayaclone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kensington, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I cut the recipe in half, used whole wheat bread, and added a lot more blueberries than called for (it's high blueberry season!), and baked for 50 minutes - still turned out delicious! No time to make compote - we served with blueberry syrup we had on hand, and maple syrup, too, as an option, along with some whipped cream. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I gets three stars for flavor. I give it 1 star for baking instructions. 350 for 20-30 minutes is no where near enough time. I'd say more like 400 degrees for 45 minutes. taking the foil off half way thru the cooking time. At 350, I baked for almost an hour and it's still very soggy on the bottom and barely cooked on top. Maybe the milk ratio should be looked at more closely. Unsure. Will try again and play with the cook times. I did add cinnamon to the sugared topping. I like that addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
204 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Earwood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Mascarpone Stuffed French Toast with Peaches

Elegant stuffed French toast is served with a delectable peach sauce.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States