Blueberry Streusel Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
The muffin itself is great, not too sweet, which is as a muffin should be. Fluffy, tender and moist. It is the streusel, however, that I didn't like. Even though I used chilled butter as called for, it wasn't until I added two tablespoons more of both brown sugar and flour that I got a true streusel consistency. As written, the streusel is too heavy with butter. Had I used the streusel as is, while I'm sure it would have been acceptable, it would more than likely have somewhat melted into the muffin rather than being the crumb-like streusel topping I was after. Once I "fixed" it (at least to MY liking) all was fine, and I had a perfect blueberry streusel muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2001
This is a really good classic muffin. I used a bit more sugar, 1 Tbs. vanilla, didn't coat my blueberries with flour, and baked at 350 instead of 375 and they turned out great. This muffin had a really nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
These were great. I added a cup of sugar instead of 3/4 cup. And left off the strusel topping. I even used frozen blueberries and cut them up into little pieces. These are on the top of my list for blueberry muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
I made these for brunch today and they were just perfect! It was the first time I'd ever made blueberry muffins from scratch rather than out of a box and the results were phenomenal. I had to add about an extra 1/4 cup of milk to make the batter a little thinner, but it wasn't a problem and they cooked up beautifully - I love the streusel as well. I'll be making these again without a doubt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef W

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2001
The muffins are very tasty. I used half blueberry's and half strawberries. I also replaced about 1/4 cup of white sugar with brown sugar. I believe the richness of the brown sugar enhances the taste of the berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
I made these muffins for the first time and they were awesome! I added a little extra milk, vanilla, and a little brown sugar as well. MMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MSFLISS
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
Delightful! Other users have said they used more sugar - I don't think these muffins needed it. If there are enough blueberries, these should impart a natural sweetness. I found it to be just the right level. Delicious warm with a cup of tea, and I'm sure they'll be tasty later as well. Gorgeous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
I noticed right away that this uses the cake method of mixing. Makes it richer. My 6-yr-old and I decided to mix the berries with the dry ing, so that the batter would turn purple! Didn't try the topping; too many mixed reviews -- just sprinkled brown sugar an top. Used the lower temp suggestion. Very filling, we found. Nice muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
Great muffins, I added a little extra milk and only used cinnamon and sugar on top and they were wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmacsaunders

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
These weren't very sweet and the streusel topping didn't work so hot either. They were edible, but I'll not be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States