Blueberry Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This is truly wonderful! I cut the recipe in half, made it the night before and added a few chopped nuts. Before popping in the oven I poured on a bit of half and half and sprinkled it with brown sugar. Baked as directed and served with the blueberry syrup (lots left over to have with frozen yoghurt tonight).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Special and yummy breakfast or brunch dish. Good with butter and real maple syrup, but still a bit bland so it does need the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I cut this in half using an 8x8 baking pan and used the leftover Cloverleaf rolls from last night's Turkey Day dinner instead of french bread. (I baked the rolls day before Thanksgiving but for some reason, they hardened up really fast. So, these rolls were perfect for this recipe.) I did use reduced fat cream cheese, fat free evaporated milk instead of regular milk, organic frozen blueberries that I thawed just a bit and Smuckers blueberry syrup (which I just happened to have in the fridge). My husband didn't care for it but it really was no issue because my kids snarfed up the rest. It was great for me because 1) breakfast was cake and 2) they were absolutely silent. Next time, I may play around with the recipe and maybe use something besides maple syrup in the strata. It might be pretty, too, with a drizzling of vanilla icing over the top and make a nice almost bread pudding dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I loved this dish! It was really easy to make and the blueberry sauce topping was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Just sampled this hot out of the oven. Oh my! Love it! Just sweet enough and the texture, due to the cream cheese, was awesome. We made a half recipe but used 3 tablespoons of maple syrup and maybe 5-6 oz of cream cheese. We had to add water to the syrup to thin it when we reheated this morning. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Floyd, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
We loved this, to the point where my husband mentioned it for DAYS after the fact. I used frozen wild blueberries that I found at Fred Meyer, they were much smaller but more intense in flavor. I used just a little less cream cheese and didn't bother with the syrup but sprinkled sugar on top instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eandtheboys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Abbey
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Yummy yummu! I made this for brunch and it was a hit! The only thing I want to specify is to use fresh blueberries if you can get ahold of them. I couldn't find any, so I had to use frozen and it was a little more watery than expected but the bread soaked it right up. The syrup is delicious, you may want to add an extra T. of cornstarch if you are using frozen blueberries because of the excess water. Otherwise, awesome and I will definitely make this a regular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Photo by Loves2Cook
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Love it! I think it will be great for Easter brunch because you prepare it ahead of time, freeing up time Easter morning for the Easter festivities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
I made this for a brunch and followed the recipe exactly. It's very easy. and you make it the day before. It was Excellent! By far everyones favorite of the day of all of the dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Everyone absolutely loved it. I only used 1 pkg. of cream cheese and this was plenty. Other than that I only made 2 other non-significant changes. I used whole wheat sandwich bread since it was all I had. Also, for the syrup, I cut back the sugar and water to 1 1/4 cup. It was plenty sweet. I might add some vanilla to the egg mixture next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natural & Good4U

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States