Blueberry Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
All you have to do is just reduce the amount of water to just 1/2 a cup if you're using frozen blueberries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This was excellent. I had to "guesstimate" the amount of bread and flexed amount of egg mixture - but the overall result was perfect. I made this for Christmas morning, prepping the night before. This recipe not only received rave reviews from my kids who ranged 10 years to 22, but it allowed me to spend the morning with the family instead of "manning the griddle". A really nice change. As for the dish itself - it was perfect in that it was filling and NOT too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
excellent! I followed the advice of other reviewers and cut the cream cheese. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Berg Bailey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
This is very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brucemdykstra
Home Town: Douglas, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
This was good. I used a multi-grain bread, light cream cheese, and light vanilla silk. In order to reduce the calories, I decided to skip the blueberry syrup on top. But with the base strata, I thought it was very good and the maple syrup added a nice amount of sweetness the blueberries and cream cheese needed. The vanilla silk may have helped with that also. I also added about a teaspoon of salt to the custard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Very good! Since cream cheese doesn't "melt", next time I will cut smaller so you don't get a chunk of it in a bite. I didn't have enough blueberries so I made a strawberry syrup instead - yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Loved this! I served it for Christmas breakfast and it was a hit! I did use less cream cheese- 1 1/2 pkgs instead of two and it was plenty. The blueberry syrup was delicious on it and it was also good with warm maple syrup. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Warning: I modified it based on other reviews! Took this to a brunch event and it was a big hit. I will keep it on my list of favorite recipes! Used just one 8oz package of cream cheese mixed with 1 tsp of vanilla. Put lots of little blobs of cream cheese all over (tedious!). Added a couple of shakes of cinnamon and more vanilla to the egg/milk mixture. I used Italian bread (because the French bread at the store seemed like it would end up mushy, and the Italian was denser). I also failed to see the "chill overnight" when I read the recipe, so, I made it and popped straight in the oven! Used fresh blueberries. The syrup was FABULOUS! I'm going to make homemade syrup all the time from now on! (I used 1 cup sugar instead of 1-1/2) and it was plenty sweet.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
This was excellent! I had a huge party and made this 2 weeks ahead and froze (before cooking it). I took it out the day before and cooked it at 375 for an hour and served with plain maple syrup. Very good and will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Scott Lakin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
We loved this, to the point where my husband mentioned it for DAYS after the fact. I used frozen wild blueberries that I found at Fred Meyer, they were much smaller but more intense in flavor. I used just a little less cream cheese and didn't bother with the syrup but sprinkled sugar on top instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eandtheboys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Mom's Breakfast Strata

A savory strata with ham, mushrooms, peppers, and melted Cheddar.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States