Blueberry Strata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
My kids liked it but my husband and I thought it was just ok. Too much cream cheese and the sauce was too sweet, both problems that are adjustable. I may play around with the recipe and try some of the suggestions offered by other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honesdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
OMG!! My husband and I each had a serving, and then the rest went down the garbage disposal. What a waste. The prep time is inaccurate, as it takes over 20 minutes to cube an entire loaf of French bread. Additionally, I believe the entire loaf was the biggest part of the problem. The egg mixture was inadequate to cover the entire pan, leaving the top dry. I'm so glad I did a test run before I served this to company as I would have been really embarrassed! I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kris
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
We had our annual girls weekend out on Long Island ME and I tried this recipe for one of our breakfasts. There were 12 of us and everyone loved it!! Will defiantly be making this time n time again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Hendershot
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
This recipe is amazing. I would make again, but I would add some cinnamon to the egg mixture. However, the syrup is EXTRA amazing! I did add a dash of cinnamon to the syrup and cut water back to only one cup since I had to use frozen berries for that. (The grandchildren had eaten the rest of the fresh berries by the time I made the syrup!). My son-in-law raved about this recipe, so it's definitely a keeper! Thank you for sharing, Jeannette1011!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Really good. Will use only one box cream cheese next time and slice it thin to cover the layer. Will also add vanilla as i do with french toast. The homemade blueberry syrup is really great and is definitely needed to give the dish sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
this is really easy and delicious. it is like french toast/cheesecake. super simple and yummy! my attempt came out less brown than i thought it would, and the amount of syrup (the glaze for the top) was too much. i poured it over top and realized it looked kind of like a soup. but it was still a hit, and we all enjoy it at my house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mari Werner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Skokie, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Made it for church social hour it was a hit!!! Great receipe ????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I had some old bread and blueberries in the freezer that I needed to use up, so I tried this recipe. My husband loved, loved, loved it! This recipe will be a staple in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
To Izzy, the 9 hours and 20 minutes refers to 20 minute prep time, 8 hour over night in the refrigerator, and 1 hour cook time. I plan on making today and hope it is a success! The five star rating is based on how it looks online. If my option has changed after making I'll repost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This was amazing! Without reading the other reviews , it was obvious there was too much cream cheese. I made it with only 1-1/2 blocks of cream cheese and no syrup. Next time I would even use less and make them smaller bits. Also, I would chop my bread into even smaller crouton size pieces. But still super moist and yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States