Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I baked for sports event for my kids. They sold ice coffee and I baked this cake to go along with it. It was more than good enough to sell. A few things though I think I would change in recipe. It was too sweat for even for my kids and that's a good indication to reduce sugar. I would make with 1 cup sugar. Also, sour cream without any liquid except for eggs is a little too thick to mix. It could create over-mixing or some flour could remain dry without liquid. I would add some milk to make mixing easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tomkins Cove, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
This cake is a super sweet heavy mess that falls apart when cut! It is not good only sweet. I threw it away and will not make it again. I can't believe people actually liked this. If it is such a good recipe as many have said, why all the changes to it? More of this, less of that, add this etc. etc. A recipe is only truly good if you can make it as is without all the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Amazing!! Only change I made was to reduce the sugar to 1 1/2 cups and increase the blueberries (fresh blueberries) to 1 1/2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeniseM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Have made this several times for us & neighbors. I do use 1 1/2 c sugar & may have to try 1 1/3 cups sugar or less. I've been doing 1/2 the brown sugar, cinnamon & pecan mixture & it is much better. Using the entire amount is just way to sweet for us. This is a big hit & goes fast. I've even made this when I only had 3/4 c of sour cream & it still was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
This was a disaster. It was wayy too heavy. The cake actually sunk on top of itself. It was too sweet. It fell to pieces after sitting and cooling in the fridge for 2 hours. I will never make this again and I don't recommend anyone else to make it either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
After looking at the list of ingredients I thought this has got to be good. This was very disappointing. The flavor missed the mark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Made this for a dinner party last night - everyone loved it! Almost all had seconds (or thirds!) and asked for the recipe. Reduced white sugar to 1.5c as recommended, increased berries to 1.5c. Could cut down on brown sugar as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
First made this for an Easter gathering and it was a hit. I have made it again multiple times in the last 3 months for company, as birthday cake and just because, and it always gets a great response. I highly recommend watching the video before you start. I toss the blueberries in a little extra flour before folding in as suggested. I have done this when using both fresh and frozen blueberries. No need to change the recipe cause it is great just the way it is written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
The BEST blueberry cake!! Loved it! I will make it again soon. I will also cut back the white sugar next time to 1 cup and I think it doesn't need that much sugar. Thank you for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
This is my go-to recipe for leftover blueberries. I usually have everything in my pantry. The end result is a guilty pleasure but so, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 622) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States