Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
Will definitely make this again! I used the suggestions of reducing to 3/4 cup butter and 1-1/2 cups sugar. I used my stand mixer to cream butter and sugar, and then add in eggs, sour cream, and vanilla (gentle mixing). But then I stirred in my dry mixture and blueberries by hand. I coated the blueberries in a flour dusting before adding them to keep my batter from being tinted. Things I will do differently next time: 1) bake for 65 minutes, and 2) use only half of the brown sugar mixture by placing it in the middle of my batter only and not using more on top. Too sweet for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
I made this with coconut oil in place of butter.(same amount). Absolutely fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Gratz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
1st attempt at a bundt cake and it was a total success. followed direction exactly. took longer to put together, but i'm a new cook so that's to be expected. i cooked it at 350 for 55 minutes. i live at sea level (if that is important). let it cool for roughly an hour. it came out perfect. the only thing i skipped was the confectioner's sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
I loved this coffee cake. I made it just as it is shown. I whipped the wet ingredients well and stirred in the dry ingredients. Of course I gently folded in the fresh blueberries. The cake turned out moist and delicious. The blueberries did not sink to the bottom, but were throughout the cake and the cake did not collapse. I am not sure what I did to prevent this other than whipping the wet ingredients really well. I took this to my quilt group meeting and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
Outside was chewy, inside was dense. Very unusual in that respect but it was good. A little too sweet for me, and I omitted the powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Miss Mapes
Reviewed: May 23, 2015
I did not have frozen or fresh blueberries like the recipe calls for so I used 1/2 cup dried blueberries instead and it still came out really moist and delicious. Beware of the cooking time though. In the all recipes magazine the cooking time says 1 1/4 hr to 1 1/2 hours. I set my oven timer for 1 hr and it really could of came out a little earlier because the outside was a little too brown for my taste. Overall this coffee cake is truly a keeper. I am going to make this again in a few days for a Memorial Day BBQ and will put blueberries and strawberries on the platter in the middle of the cake, then it will have the red,white and blue colors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Mapes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pacifica, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
The most wonderful blueberry coffee cake recipe. My family loves it and I make it all the time. Like other reviews said, I doubled the blueberries and reduced the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
i love the light fluffy texture. i know some coffee cakes are more like quick bread. this was very light and sweet. made it with yogurt instead of sour cream and it was amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Too sweet for me with 2 cup sugar. My 18 year old sugar addicted son thought it perfect. Very rich, and that is a good thing. If you are going to be bad...do it right! 1 1/3 cup sugar and double the berries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 665) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States