Blueberry Shortbread Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I am rating this 5 stars because of a few little changes I made. I think the author may have made an error by not adding liquid to the blueberry filling. I added the juice of a whole lemon to a measuring cup, then topped it with water until it filled a half cup. Then stirred the cornstarch into the lemon water before cooking with the blueberries and sugar. Because there is so much sour cream in the filling, I added two tablespoons of flour to give it more structure so it set up quicker. I mixed it all by hand so I didn't add too much air to the filling as I like a smooth, silky cheesecake; banging the pan on the counter a couple times also help the air bubbles rise to the top so it comes out smoother. As written this cake is very sweet, by cutting the sugar in half in all 3 layers, this pie is out of this world good, and is a must make dessert if you have blueberry lovers to please!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by westcoastmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KristinH.
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
This is very easy, delicious recipe. I baked it in a 9" springform pan with great results. I had read cautions in a review about the crust being too hard so I baked it for only 15 minutes before pouring in the filling. I served it with some fresh, sliced strawberries that had been tossed in a little sugar and allowed to sit for 10 minutes. Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catkramer
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
This is one of the best cheesecakes I have ever made. It is easy and it isn't over the top. I followed the exact directions on everything but the topping. I didn't have enough fresh blueberries so I grabbed out the rest of a package of mixed fruit and threw it in. Delicious! I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Beautiful dessert that came together in minutes. I liked the shortbread crust, which was a nice change from the standard graham cracker crust - I used white rather than brown sugar and it was tender and easy to cut and serve. The filling is pleasantly sweet and nicely laced with the lemon zest. As for the topping, I found I needed to add a little water to get it a little saucier. Those who find most desserts too big for their needs, or for those who would simply like smaller sized desserts just so they can bake more often, may find it interesting to note that I easily scaled this down to three servings and prepared it in a 6" square baking pan. In this smaller version, the crust needed just 9 minutes to bake, and the filling only 20 minutes. This will yield four very generous servings, or 6 more "reasonable" sized servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
I didn't have enough blueberries to do a full recipe so I cut it in half and used a pre-made pie crust. I like homemade crusts better, and since I didn't use the crust in this recipe so I only rated it a 4. However, the part of the recipe I made was amazing and I can't wait to try it with the crust next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hartsellem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
I usually prefer my cheesecakes crustless but this one was delicious! Great blend of textures and flavours, although I did omit the lemon (not a fan). Really enjoyed the fresh blueberry topping as opposed to the canned version. You can taste the difference. Followed other commenter's advice to cut down on the sugar and am really glad I did! Turned out great. **Tip: If you don't want your cheesecake to crack, bake it with the oven door ajar an inch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
didn't make the crust..just bought one. the filling was very sweet..i'll probably use a little less sugar next time..but it was good. thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
I made this dessert for a famliy bbq and got rave reviews. Even my brother who said he didn't like cheesecake said it was good. Like a previous review, mine also split when cooked the minimum time but the blueberry mixture easily hid the crack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
All in all this is a tasty dessert. My only problem is that the crust is very hard and difficult to cut. Perhaps the crust should not bake quite as long. Maybe I pressed it into the baking dish too firmly. I'm not sure that would have made a difference. Also, my cheesecake was completely baked and cracking at the minimum baking time. I also added several extra handfuls of blueberries. I added enough water to moisten the sugar before making the blueberry topping. Next time I may add a touch of lemon juice to the topping as it's incredibly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
Note: The pan used should really be a 9x13 baking dish. Sorry for the mix up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenofSuburbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Hobbs, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

PHILADELPHIA 'Fruit Smoothie' Cheesecake

See how to make a scrumptious, berry-filled, no-bake cheesecake.

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Make this creamy white chocolate raspberry cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States