Blueberry Shortbread Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
These were fast, easy, and very delicious! My family really liked them (except one daughter who doesn't like blueberries). I don't have Chinese spice so used 1/8 tsp. nutmeg and 1/4 tsp. cinnamom. Thanks, and I enjoyed the video, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
As usual, Chef John delivers a great recipe. I wanted a cookie bar for my favorite mechanics at our local Midas shop who love cookies. I don't do cookies well, and usually take them scones ( the Savoy recipe here at AR). After watching John's video, I thought these were a good compromise between cookies and scones. They turned out very well. Thanks Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marjorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Used chinese 5 spice powder as listed in recipe, shouldn't have. Gave the shortbread an unusual taste, kind of like bad breath aftertaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I've made this recipe a couple of times. Huge kudos each time! I doubled the recipe and used a Pyrex 11 x 15 size pan. Worked perfect. I used frozen blueberries and subsituted the chinese five spice for 1 tsp. of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
So yummy! Not too sweet, and so so good. My husband took 1 bite and said "ooh, this is a keeper". I didn't have Allspice, so I used 1/4 tsp cinnamon and 1/4 tsp nutmeg instead (per other reviewers). I used more berries, enough to make a full layer. I used 2 T of water, instead of 1. I used an 8x8 pan,and I baked it for 5 more minutes than called for. and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
great recipe!!!!! I used blackberries, which are my favorite (oh why must they be cursed with so many seeds?!) I liked this recipe because of the shortbread crunch at the bottom, it really set it apart from a usual crisp. I didnt have 5 spice, so I added nutmeg and cinnamon. I also added a bit of vanilla and 1 tablespoon water to the dough. I think I freaked out on the consistency of the dough, and I thought more water was needed, but it probably wasnt. It turned out great, and once all those little butter balls melted in the oven, the crust turned into crispy, buttery goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anniebb25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
I have made these several times. My favorite happens to be the blueberry shortbread bars. I doubled the recipe & baked it in my Pyrex 11 X 7 X 2 inch glass baking dish. It works wonderful. I like blueberries, I used more blueberries also. Cinnamon was my choice, too. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hilliard, Ohio, USA
Photo by MeganHaag
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Love them!!! They are so easy and watch the video also!Try them....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Easy peasy! I just love this recipe. The shortbread crust is perfectly crunchy & crumbly, with a subtle touch of the Chinese 5 Spice making you ask "What makes this taste so good?" I used my food processor and I had to add a full tablespoon of ice cold water to get my shortbread to stay together. I attribute that to the weather as we live in a low humidity environment. It was in the oven in less than 10 minutes-2 hours to cool...I just ate 3 pieces! Thanks so much Chef John for the recipe and the video!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I made it as directed and it was not tasty at all. Next time, I will use brown sugar instead of white and cinnamon with a little lemon juice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Pelham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States