Blueberry Shortbread Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I made this as is and it is Great!! Particularly to LJ HAWK: Our Spices, but particularly Chinese 5 spice MUST be Fresh. If you've had it for a year (or more) throw it out and buy a new one, when you're going to use it, not before*!* I sure hope this helps everyone enjoy the Chinese 5 spice idea more, it adds so much to this recipe. Why make another boring bar w/the expected spices?? Live dangerously; try something NEW*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Great recipe!!! I used cherries and it came out wonderful! I didn't use the Chinese 5 spice though, just cinnamon. Not a fan of cloves or anise :-P.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Galeton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sunny Sonja
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Tasty and easy-to-make bars! I made them with blueberries and strawberries, but they got a bit soggy. I put them in the fridge after cooling off on the counter for awhile, and they were refreshing and a bit more solid. I will definitely make them again soon since they are almost gone, and I just made them. My family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunny Sonja

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Received many accolades on my version of this recipe. I added a mixture of unsweetened almond milk and sifted confectioners sugar drizzled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
These were fast,simple, and DELICIOUS! To top it off they taste even BETTER the next day. This recipe is an absolute keeper. I only had cinnamon at the moment of preparing the recipe so I went with that only and they ended up yummy! I used the amount of blueberries the recipe calls for and honestly I think you need abit more. I used the whole pint and avoided the dough to become big crumbs.This will depend on how cold is the butter. I also had to use a bit more water and very cold. Your best guide to know you got the dough ready is to check that the it does not stick to the bowl and keeps sort of small loose crumbs close to powdery texture. This will make it easier for you to assemble. By doing this you can use half of the dough for the bottom. Do not be afraid of feeling like it is not enough amount of dough when setting the bottom what is important is to be able to layer it as flat as possible,then cover with the layer of the berries and sprinkle the rest of the dough like if it were sprinkles. You will notice the look will be just as fantastic as it tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
My husband loves this recipe. He wants me to make these with other fruit,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
So delicious! It was gone after one day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by renamethis
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Awesome! I used 1/2 a cup of homemade plum jam instead of berries and pumpkin spice instead of five spice (it's almost the same thing). They were fantastic, my boyfriend and our friends just melted down their chairs and their eyes rolled back in their heads as they swooned over how good they were. I'm putting this one in my book for keeps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by creme_brulee
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
My boyfriend loves shortbread cookies and blueberries so when I came across this recipe I decided to give a try right away, and I'm so glad that I did! I made two modifications to this recipe. First, like some other users, I used nutmeg and cinnamon instead of Chinese 5 spice powder(I am Chinese myself, Chinese 5 spice powder is wonderful for cooking Chinese food, I'm just not sure if we are going to like the taste in bakery goods). Also, I used about 1 and 1/2 tsp ice water because I found I need that much to make the crumbs can be compressed together. I baked it for 30 mins and I think next time I'll start checking around 28 mins because the edge was a bit overdone in my opinion. Overall these blueberry shortbread bars taste amazingly good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I used about 2 1/4 c. blue berries...just cuz I had them & needed to use them. Sprinkled them with a bit of Truvia & shook the berries to coat. Used a 8 1/2 x 8 1/2 glass baking dish & it worked just fine. Had to bake for 55 minutes because of the extra berries. This is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States