Blueberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I doubled the blueberries, and didn't use any butter (the directions didn't say when to add it, so I didn't), yet still amazing since we ate them right out of the oven. They are not very sweet at all, which I liked. Also, I made them as drop cookies, the dough is too sticky to use any other way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarans93

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
These were delicious! Scones aren't suppose to be sweet, therefore the raters who gave it poor scores for lack of sweetness don't understand how a scone is suppose to taste. These tasted just like the scones I use to eat in London. Yes, they were a bit sticky when I spooned them on to the baking sheet, but it wasn't a mess as some described. I did use non fat greek yogurt in place of the half and half since I had the yogurt and not half and half. I did not use salt. I also cut the recipe in half using a small size egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
These were delicious! I added a little extra brown sugar because I like a sweet scone. The dough was wet, so you can't really shape them, just dollup them on the baking sheet...but YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
These worried me because it was so sticky but I went through with baking and they were quite good. They did need a little sweetening so I dusted with powered sugar.....yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Good recipe depending on what you are looking for. These are very moist and good, but I was looking for scones that aren't so moist, like the ones at GlenLaurel Inn in Hocking Hills. There is no way these can be rolled out, I dropped them them on the cookie sheet like drop biscuits and then shaped them. They were a hit with my family, just not exactly what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
These scones were a big hit. I did not have the problem of the dough being too moist. It was quite dry actually and came together perfectly. I followed the recipe very closely!! I also did not grease my baking sheet and they came off perfectly!! Easy to cut and after about 25 mins of baking they were done just right! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
This tasted great. Next time I'm going to dust them with large-grain sugar, and grease or flour the cookie sheet becuase they stuck to the bottom pretty bad. My only hesitation to recommend this is that the dough was so sticky I made a bit of a mess getting them shaped and onto the cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
This is a good recipe. It is not very sweet, so I made a glaze on the top. I didn't have any cream, so I used skim milk and a tablespoon of butter. The texture was great. I would definitedly recommend using this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I thought these scones were delicious. My dough was wet though - but that didn't bother me. These came out quite traditional as I was expecting. Our family ate these with some homemade blueberry jam...simply outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by livinginholland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
I thought this recipe was wonderful! We went blueberry picking today and I was delighted to find that I already had everything else I needed to try it. I followed the recipe exactly and, I don't want to jinx myself, but I didn't have an issue with mushy dough like some people did. I was able to divide the dough and cut it into nice little triangles without adding any extra flour. I did need to bake them about 25 minutes (instead of 20) but that may have just been my oven. They came out just like the picture. They were not super sweet (like a cookie) but according to my English friend scones aren't supposed to be really sweet. My whole family LOVED them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 359) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States