Blueberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Yes it was sticky and so I did not shape and cut as per the instructions but made drop scones as another reviewer suggested. Used frozen blueberries and added 1/4 tsp vanilla ... liked the fact that it was not too sweet, but rather light and going well with butter. Both girls liked it alot also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hank

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
My dh loves blueberries but to me they are just good. I really enjoyed them in this recipe and will make it again! I used frozen berries and 1/2 tsp. cinnamon. You can grate the cold butter which makes it easier to cut into the flour. Yes the dough was sticky so next time I won't use all of the cream unless needed. I put half the dough on a floured counter, sprinkled flour on top and on my hands (tried to use only one hand). Tried to knead it but it was difficult. The other 1/2 I put on a floured cookie sheet and that was easier. Made 6" circles, didn't cut, spread a spoonful of milk on top then sprinkled on sugar. DH said they were not sweet and I said they are not supposed to be. They were just right. Soft, tender, light, tastey... If you need more sweet you can drizzle a glaze on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I used frozen blueberries and upped the oven temp to 400 deg F, these are the best scones I have ever made! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carla Semola
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
I made these tonight, but with dried blueberries from Costco -- I liked that they stayed intact, but fresh berries would definitely be a bit sweeter. I added more flour, some white sugar and topped with an egg wash and turbino sugar per some of the reviews -- the texture turned out perfect. I'd been trying to find a recipe similar to Starbuck's blueberry scones and this is about as good as it gets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla Semola

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
THE...BEST...SCONES...EVER! my family tells me to make them again and again!though the dough is sticky it comes out perrrrrfect! thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
this recipe was perfect as was. I think the secret to this dough is not to add all the liquid at once, and to mix only until it all starts to stick together. Don't overmix! The result is light and slightly crumbly but absolutely delicious with a cup of fresh coffee. I did out of personal preference add wild dried blueberries instead of fresh and incl a dollop of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Blueberry Scones- nice, I like that it's not sweet (scones shouldn't be sweet) but it is slightly bland. I'll try some buttermilk and/or vanilla and cinamoon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This is my Christmas morning go-to recipe. I always double it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
made these for our Christmas Tea....they were great! PANANNY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and they came out perfect! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 368) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States