Blueberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
The dough was very sticky and wet as the others have said, but that was an easy fix with just a bit more flour. I didn't really knead it more than one or two times. If you're looking for a bigger scone (like what you see in the bakeries) you don't have to split the dough in half.. just make one large circle of dough, then slice into triangles. I also dusted it with a bit of granulated sugar prior to baking. I think when I make this recipe again I'm going to put a bit of lemon zest into the mix to emphasize the taste of the blueberries even more. I really liked this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Quirkzilla
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Very yummy! My only problem is that the recipe can be a little difficult to understand, step two, specifically.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quirkzilla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I thought the scones needed more sweetness...sugar! They were good, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Good recipe but a little on the non-sweet side -I added a tsp of grated lemon and used frozen mixed berries but I served this with the Devonshire Cream recipe and they were wonderful-Be prepared for the dough to be on the soft side but they baked perfectly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
simple, quick and delicious. I followed the recipe exactly (cold butter which may help it not be messy?) it was neither messy nor impossible to cut. Shaped and cut easily. I'm confused by those who were unsuccessful. I'll use this over and over again...great and I imagine able to adapt to other flavors instead of blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Dough was ridiculously sticky. Hard to work with. Messy. Too wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by oddible
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Great recipe, dough was perfectly workable and not gooey at all. Not sure what other reviewers did to their mix to but I followed the recipe exactly (though I added a bit over a cup of blueberries) and it came out great. Result was as expected for a scone, though my wife likes 'em a bit sweeter so I'll probably at least add sugar to the top next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oddible

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
This is a great recipe. The dough was a little sticky but definitely worth it. I recommend not to knead the dough hard because the blueberries will smush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mo8

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Read thru the reviews and I added a little more flour and a touch of vanilla. Even with the little extra flour, they were still very sticky. I just dropped spoonfuls of the mixture on a parchment covered baking sheet. They were delicious tho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
When I added more flour, it was too dry, so I added some vanilla and a little water. I put in a little white sugar and covered them in vanilla sugar. I made the scones a little too big, but they were still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 361) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States