Blueberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I love scones, only made a few recipes for it over the years. SO not much in the way of an expert. Having said that, most people if they've never made or tasted a scone, it's an English verison of a biscuit and can be dense. I love love scones, they are very versatile like this recipe, and this recipe is really really good. I made these 3x already in a week. The 1st two times I made them I used frozen blueberries because my store didn't have fresh. And they were delish. However, they were very purple because no matter how much you rinse or don't rinse, the blueberries dye everything in it's path. The last batch I used the fresh, and they looked soo gorgeous, but the fresh berries were extremely tart and wowziers did that give us pucker power ;-) You totally need a glaze to cut out the bitter of fresh blueberries. But this recipe is very easy to do and very quick to put together. I highly recommend this recipe, especially to those that love scones ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Great recipe. Very quick and easy and they taste great. Have made multiple times
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I saved some of the egg/milk mixture to brush on top, like in the "How to Make Scones" video I saw on AllRecipes.com. Dough was sticky, but not unmanageable. Finished product is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I used thawed frozen blueberries, and in place of the cream I used 3/4 c. (6 oz. container) of Dannon's (could be any brand though) blueberry yogurt. The blueberry yogurt (stirred before adding) gave it a bit of a blueberry tinge and added a bit more sweetness and less fat. I'd add some coarse sugar to the tops before baking the next time, but not necessary. For those who commented on the dough being so sticky - well, it is. But flour the board before turning it out to shape it, and flour your hands before you start shaping it or before kneading it. I found mine really didn't need much kneading. Shaping it can do most of that job. It will not be like a bread dough. So although you think you have a sticky mass of nothing, it's really something! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Quick and easy recipe. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
This recipe was not sweet at all, and was VERY bland. I managed to save them from being too boring by making an icing for them. They were a lot better after that. I wouldn't recommend this recipe unless you are willing to play around with it and fix it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Love this recipie. Mine turned out a little hard to work with but the taste made up for it. I wasn't making them for anyone other than my family so to look like a scone, wasn't a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I am really pleased with the way these scones turned out! Based on other reviews, I made these changes: 2 cups whole wheat pastry flour (I like Bob's Red Mill brand) 1/2 c. loosely packed brown sugar (usu. I cut sugar down, but I wanted a bit more sweet to balance out the lemon) 3 handfuls of frozen blueberries (frozen fruit always works in baking and doesn't smoosh as easily when mixing) 1/2 c. of Chobani non-fat lemon yogurt 1/4 c. lowfat (1%) milk I made them drop scones on a Pam-sprayed cookie sheet and they took 18 min. Otherwise, I stuck to the directions. I lived in the UK for 5 years and while these were a bit more crumbly (due to the whole wheat flour, I think) and a teensy bit sweeter than those I was accustomed to across the pond, I think they were a very good *health food* alternative. Tangy, a bit sweet, moist tasting and delicious with tea. What more could you want from a scone! Also lovely served with Polaner All-Fruit Apricot spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaLearnsToCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Awesome recipe. I've made with cranberries too. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
The problem with this recipe is its name. Its not a scone its a drop batter for...something like a muffin. scones turn into a dough, this does not and it has too much baking powder in it. Its not a good recipe if it has to have major changes ( double flour, less b.p., more sugar) to meet its name. Sorry. I also did not think it tasted good. Congrads to all who like the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RasheedsWife

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 368) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States