Blueberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Just made them, yummy! I made a lemon glaze that was just perfect with the fruit of the blueberries! One change I might make next time is to watch the dry - liquid ratio a little more, it seems the dough was really sticky making shaping it impossible, so they didn't look like traditional scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
As other reviewers said, the dough is sticky, but that did not begin to describe how wet the dough is! I literally could not handle it (because it was dripping through my fingers) and had to add at least 1/4-1/2 cup more flour just to get it from "wet blob" to "sticky." As others also found, it had little to no flavor even though I did add 1 tsp vanilla (as others recommended). I would not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberliah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I added lemon zest to the batter. The dough is sticky but the scones came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I made these yesterday and they came out great. I have been looking for a recipe as close to a blueberry scone as I possibly could find, and this is pretty darn close. Right before I found this recipe, I did see a video about baking techniques for scones, which I think made all the difference. So I believe that it's all in the technique. First, I used a whisk to mix up the dry ingredients well. When I added my fresh blueberries, I used my hands, because you don't want the blueberries to burst or get squished while your mixing. Then, when I added my wet mixture to my dry mixture/blueberries, I used my hands again (I didn't have a rubber spatula). Just a slight folding motion until everything was wet. This way, I wasn't over-working it. The batter came out STICKY, but manageable with some flour-covered hands. I made the two small loaves and cut them into triangles. Baked them as so....they were super. I did think, however, that there wasn't enough sugar, because they are not at all sweet, but I think authentic scones aren't supposed to be super sweet. In future attempts I will think about adding maybe 1/4 tsp of vanilla extract to make the blueberry flavor pop more for my blueberry tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NegiMissy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
So good, I cannot stop eating them. I used half cup of sour cream because that's what I had, splashed a little skim to incorporate all the flour. My blueberries were so huge I ended up cutting through them but obviously did not have an impact on end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Love these! I had no issues with the dough, used exactly what the recipe listed. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camprunfarm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I've made these a couple times for family and friends and they are delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaddyMadDog13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Fantastic! I didn't have any half-and-half handy, so I used a combination of 1/2 cup vanilla yogurt and a 1/2 cup low-fat milk, which worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Great recipe! I took the advice from another post and substitued the cream with vanilla yogurt and also added some vanilla extract to give it some extra flavour without too much sweetness. This was a big hit with my family and will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
It was the night before Mother's Day and I wanted to bake something nice for my mom for her day. Now, I know one thing for certain about my mom. She LOVES scones. I don't know anything about how to make scones, so I turn to my handy smartphone and search for blueberry scones. That's her favourite kind. This popped up with great reviews so I drove down to the store and grabbed some ingredients. I was so surprised at how easy this was to make. When I went to get the blueberries from my fridge, though, I discovered I didn't have any. Because I had already made the dough, though, I formed the scones and threw them into the oven anyways. I was scared at the end results without the blueberries. When i tested one, though, it was delicious. It truly is a tasty recipe even without the blueberries. Next time I have a friend over, I will definitely be making these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 374) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States