Blueberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
The secret to this recipe is to not serve it right away! I tasted it on the stove when done and thought too much OJ. I served breakfast about an hour later and reheated the syrup and the flavor totally changed it was ALL BLUEBERRY! Flavors just needed to settle. Wonderful recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
405 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This was delicious. Made for a neighborhood waffle party and it was devoured. Wouldn't change a thing except to make it a couple of days before so the flavors have a chance to marry. Wonderful sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
340 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
Okay, I originally rated this a 4 but when I tasted it 2 days later it was amazing. Very orangy in the beginning but flavors really blended. Used frozen blueberries, strawberries, and rasberries. I have enough to feed an army right now but I will freeze and use next month for family reunion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
194 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
First of all, I substituted splenda for the white sugar to make it a little bit more healthy. This sauce is great on just about everything, but my personal favorite is whole-wheat buttermilk pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Zionsville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
This has become a staple at my house. We make it almost every weekend to put over waffles or pancakes. I do use frozen blueberries when I can't get fresh. Do not freeze this recipe, it will thaw with a funky texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
Absolutely wonderful...I made a few minor changes...I only used 3/4 cup orange juice,(and added 1/4 cup water to make a total of 1 cup) because the juice I used is quite strong(Tropicana)and I only used half the cornstarch and water mixture because I like my sauces quite runny. In the end I got wonderful reviews for this sauce which I used with a lemon cheesecake...Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
The almond flavor enhances the blueberry flavor--amazing! I like about a tablespoon less corn starch. I have also made this recipe with lemonade instead of orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra M.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 24, 2012
This was not my favorite and I know I would have liked it even less had I followed directions exactly. Looking over the recipe, it appeared the blueberry flavor was going to be lost in orange, almond and cinnamon - TOO much going on here - and for me, these were competing rather than complementary flavors as well. I reduced the orange juice by half (while at the same time reducing the cornstarch to compensate) and it still had more orange flavor than I would have preferred for a BLUEBERRY sauce. I eliminated the almond extract and cinnamon altogether. Finally, I reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup and the sauce was plenty sweet - an extra quarter cup would have been cloyingly sweet. So...by eliminating the cinnamon and almond extract, and reducing the amounts of both the sugar and the orange juice this would be greatly improved - but then it wouldn't be this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
This turned out perfectly! I doubled the recipe and served it after a dinner party over basic cheesecake. It is the perfect consistency and DELICIOUS! I used frozen wild blueberries. YUM! I'm glad I doubled the recipe so we have some for pancakes! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRA DEE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
This sauce is outstanding! It tasted wonderful on my pancakes, rich and sweet. really liked how thick it was. This seems like it would be great on cheesecake and I'm going to try that tomorrow with the cheesecake I just made. MMMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 547) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sauce

See how to make a delicious blueberry sauce for breakfast and dessert.

Rack of Lamb with Blueberry Sauce

Roasted lamb served with an easy blueberry, red wine, and butter pan sauce.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States