Blueberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by weatherfan
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2015
This stuff is awesome and so easy! I didn't have any OJ or Almond extract so in a pinch I used raspberry lemonade and vanilla extract. Was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by weatherfan
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2015
Good flavor, but this is too much cornstarch. I followed the recipe to the letter, and once the cornstarch was added, it thickened IMMEDIATELY. It was so thick that I had to thin it out with quite a bit more water which resulted in diluting the flavor of the sauce a little. Don't make without the almond extract, as that's a wonderful addition to this sauce. If I make this again, I'll start with half the amount of cornstarch, and if the sauce needs to thicken, I'll then add more cornstarch. This was good, but I must say it's not my favorite recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2015
The flavors blend in a most fantastic way and this is truly delicious! I'll be making this again, and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2015
I'm prediabetic so, the only thing I put different was I added Splenda, little butter and no orange juice. But it came out EXCELLENT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2015
Delicious versatile sauce. Only had Strawberry Orange Banana juice so used that and cut the sugar to a half cup. I'm glad I kept in the almond extract and cinnamon, the flavors blended very well. Served warm over banana pancakes. I'll be picking up some vanilla ice cream to try the leftovers on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2015
I had TONS of blueberries from our produce co-op and decided to try this. It is easy to make and perfect for so many things! I refrigerated it overnight (as suggested) and had some on Belgian waffles the next morning! Yum! It was also tasty on Greek yogurt and vanilla ice cream (like cobbler without the crust).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graham, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
Excellent! I think the almond kind of puts it right over the top. I only had about a tablespoon of cornstarch, but it thickened up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
Pure heaven. I used this sauce over French toast and we all loved it, need to use the left-overs on cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
A little too thick. I will use less corn starch the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
I thought this recipe was delicious, but I did tweak it a bit based on what I had on hand. I skipped the extract all together, and reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup which is plenty. We really only drink OJ with pineapple in it, so I used that and it's still good. The pineapple is pretty subtle in the juice. Like the other reviewers said, it is pretty orange-y but the blueberry really starts to shine when you give it time to sit. One of the reviewers said that cinnamon would distract from the intended blueberry flavor, but I think it adds a nice touch. I used fresh blueberries. Loved this on cheesecake and can't wait to try it on waffles! I plan on freezing the leftovers, which was recommended by a reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 568) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sauce

See how to make a delicious blueberry sauce for breakfast and dessert.

Rack of Lamb with Blueberry Sauce

Roasted lamb served with an easy blueberry, red wine, and butter pan sauce.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States