Blueberry Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as written for a Christmas party and it was a HUGE hit. It's really good and very easy to make. Since I did't get to have very much of it at the party I decided to make a smaller batch for my husband and I at home but didn't have the exact ingredients. Here's how I made the second one and it was excellent. I used 1 lg box of raspberry jello with 2 cups of boiling water. I added 1 can of well drained crushed pineapple. I didn't have any pie filling but did have blueberries I froze this past summer so used 2 cups of frozen berries instead. Made the topping the same with cream cheese, sour cream, and sugar. It was sooo good with the real blueberries instead of pie filling. Either way is great but if you're looking for a little less sweet and more of a real fruity salad try fresh or frozen blueberries. For parties I think I'll use the original recipe (because so many people love really sweet) and for hubby and I at home I'll make it with a generous amount of frozen blueberries instead of the pie filling because it's healthier and tastes so fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Not bad. Very basic desert salad (due to the wonderful cream cheese-sugar-sour cream topping).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
My mom used to make a jello salad like this one that my husband tolerates so I was on the hunt for a better recipe. I followed this recipe to the letter and it was waaaaay to sweet for me (all I could taste was sweetness!) and too much topping for my husband. I decided to combine my mom's salad and this salad and I came up with, to me and my family, the perfect recipe. Here's what I did: Make the raspberry jello as the package instructs using the hot and cold water. Add the crushed pineapple and about 2 cups thawed frozen blueberries. (Note: the pineapple needs to be REALLY drained otherwise your jello won't set. I mash mine through a metal strainer with a spoon.) Put the jello/fruit in the fridge until set. I didn't change the topping ingredients except to cut the volume in half. Spread the topping over the set jello and chill until served. We could taste the fruits in this version without being overpowered by sweetness. Hope this helps someone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Since we have some gluten free eaters in our family, I got a box of gluten free pretzels and crushed them. Then, with a little butter, put that on the bottom "layer" like the graham crust...delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Good stuff - I used a crushed pretzel crust on the bottom (same as the strawberry pretzel salad recipe) and it was great - lots of textures and tastes wonderful. I'm sure it would be fantastic with graham cracker crust also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by craftysteph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Had frozen blueberries ( no sugar) so cooked 1-3/4 cups blueberies with 1/4 c water , 1/4 cup splenda, and 2 tsp cornstarch and cooled. Made the rest of the recipe as written but used Spenda instead of sugar. My husband is diabetic and I cut sugar and carbs wherever I can. This was delicious and VERY VERY RICH. A little goes a long way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmette, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This is an awesome and easy recipe! I have made this a lot since finding it. I experimented with different flavored pie filling and it really doesn't matter which type you use. Also, used the drained off pineapple juice in place of some of the water. Do yourself a favor and give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
AMAZING! LOVE IT! So simple and yet so yummy and everyone loves it and asks for it often! I like to try different fruits in it sometimes and I find that trying raspberries and bananas and strawberries are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Everyone liked this and asked for the recipe. I followed the recipe as is. Next time I will double the jell-o layer and keep the topping the same or use a smaller pan and cut the topping in half. Very good, thanks for sharing the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This was a great salad to our Sunday dinner. Even though I used sugar free Jello, you couldn't tell the difference. After dinner, my kids were telling me to make it again, but with a crushed pretzel crust on the bottom. FABULOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries with a cinnamon-sugar and pecan filling make a 5-star coffee cake.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States