Blueberry Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
Amazing! I followed the recipe exactly, using frozen blueberries that I did not defrost prior to adding. I was skeptical about the sugar in the pan, afraid the cake would stick or burn, but voila, it came out easily and the sugar made an amazing crunchy crust. I took it to work and got rave reviews, people couldn't believe how moist it was, and that the berries had been frozen. I'll make it again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Ingraham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
This cake was fantastic!! I was a little worried at first because the batter was rather thick but it turned out soo moist. Instead of using butter to grease the pan, I used nonstick spray and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Bettis Anderson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2002
Delicious. . . add the juice and rind of one lemon or orange and replace blueberries with cranberries for a nice variation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn Leaves

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
I had picked fresh blueberries this weekend and was looking for another way to cook them other than muffins or in pancakes. I am very particular about the recipies that I choose but this one stuck out as being something different and easy to conjure up. I was amazed at how precise the directions were. No need to add any extras to this one and I think fresh blueberries are the best way to go, as it totally brings out the flavor. Thanks for sharing your recipe, the family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSEE2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Norwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
I'm thinking that I must have done something wrong because I didn't really like this!! It tasted just ok. I made it for a group and it did not go over well. I wasn't sure what a tube pan was so I used a bundt pan which was stoneware, that may have taken away from the topping??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KANLAN
Reviewed: May 24, 2006
Yum, yum, YUMMY! My daughter wanted to make a blueberry cake for her cooking day. I haven't been successful in this department. This one was awesome! Very easy to make and very tasty! We enjoyed it with custard for our evening dessert. I used fresh frozen blueberries straight from the freezer, no thawing necessary. We also baked it in a 9x12 inch pan as I don't have a ring pan. I can't recall how long it baked on that temp but I think it was around 40-50 minutes. Awesome cake and will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KANLAN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I was not happy with this recipe at all until I played with it. The batter was thick, heavy; more like a buckle than a pound cake. I didn't like it and wasn't even about to attempt to fold in the blueberries with it like that. I grabbed the milk from the fridge and just poured as I mixed it in, not measuring, until it looked like a nice, fluffy cake batter - I don't know, maybe 2/3 to 3/4 cup or so. I skipped the step of coating the blueberries with the flour, and just added that 1/4 cup of flour right away to the batter. I always found that step of dubious value anyway. The end result with the cake was terrific - but in my mind, only because I added the milk (or buttermilk, or sour cream, or whipping cream, or extra eggs) that it needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
UPDATE: I have now made and "taken" this cake many times. EVERY TIME, it turns out moist and delicious. I did make a thin glaze out of powdered sugar and lemon juice last time and I believe this is the favorite! BETTER THE 2ND DAY. I made it according to the directions except I baked it in a bundt pan. I will make one change next time: Before adding the blueberries, I will spoon some of the "plain" batter into the bottom of the pan. Some of the blueberries in the very bottom stuck even though my pan was VERY well greased. I would take this *anywhere*!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florala, Alabama, USA
Living In: Laurel Hill, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
Yummy! This makes a very thick batter, and I was tempted to add milk or something to thin it out. But I'm glad I didn't--it's excellent--moist and sweet. I didn't put sugar in the pan after greasing, just greased and floured as I usually do--was afraid the sugar might make it burn too easily. Really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2002
This was absolutely delicious. I halved the recipe and served it with a powdered sugar glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States