Blueberry Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
This is this blueberry pound cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Oh man! I don't think I've ever had a cake come out of a pan so easily before! I used a Nordic Ware non-stick bundt pan, but I still believe the butter and sugar prep made the difference. Used a little less than the 1/4 c of sugar, just a light dusting to cling to the butter. I thought the 2 T of butter was a lot, but I don't dare change that now that I see how it came out. Holy mother of pearl, this cake is heavenly! I baked it for 80 minutes and it was a lovely golden brown. Maybe I didn't have as noticeable a sugar crust on the outside, but it was just fine to me. I put no glaze or powdered sugar on it -- good grief, 2 cups of sugar, 2 sticks of butter, 4 eggs -- it was evil enough as it was! :) I may even attempt to make muffins from this recipe, using the butter & sugar in the muffin cups. I bought some blueberries on sale ( $1.88 a pint!) and was looking for a recipe to use them in. I may have to go back and grab another pint! Once this cake comes out of the oven and cools off, it becomes an ENDANGERED SPECIES. As for those who made it but didn't get to eat much of it, try to make it when no one's home (or up yet) and CLAIM your piece. The baker of this creation deserves the first piece. Definitely a keeper, or couldn't you already tell? I can see why those who brought this to work or other gatherings got requests for the recipe. Saved in my favorites bar for future use! Thanks, dcbeck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I found this cake to be very dense and dry. I would not make it again. Followed recipe -no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I made this cake for a 4th of July barbecue and it was great! It was really moist the first day and it seemed like it was even more moist 1-2 days later. I made this cake in a bundt pan and cooked it for 50 minutes. (I have noticed that the cake cooking times seem to be a little different here in Las Vegas) I did reduce the sugar to 1 1/2 cups and I added the juice from one lemon into the wet ingredients before I mixed in the dry. Other than that, I stuck to the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
I LOVE this cake!!! I had purchased fresh blueberries and wanted to do something great with them. The batter was pretty thick and I was a little worried about that, but it turned out perfectly! I followed the recipe to the letter and the cake that turned out of the pan was beautiful and tastes wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
This cake turned out perfectly! I used cherries instead as that was all I had on hand -- delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by leighsa40
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Excellent, family gobbled it up before it was even cool, a keeper, will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Fantastically delicious on my first attempt! Made two loaves instead of the ring and was glad I did. Easier to share with friends! Mostly gone in a day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Good recipe. I added extra blueberries and thank goodness I did. The cake seemed a little dry, maybe too much flour. I will cut back on that next time or add sour cream. I topped mine with a lemon glaze and the family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajzaanderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I've made this cake a number of times and it never disappoints. It is rich and buttery with a yummy kick of fruit. The sugar sprinkled on initially lends a lovely crunchyness. I use mixed berries because I always have them on hand in the freezer and I reduce the 2 cups of white sugar to 1 3/4. As other reviewers have noted, the batter's really thick and will stick to your spreader, so after I've got it in the pan I wet my fingers and spread it around evenly. I find that it needs at least 75 minutes to cook through because it's quite dense. Finally, it freezes very well if you have any leftovers after a few days (which is unlikely!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States