Blueberry Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by BrittyLane
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Fantastic!!! I made it exactly like the recipe except I added juice and zest of one lemon to the batter and made a lemon, milk and powdered sugar glaze to drizzle on the top. I didn't drizzle a whole lot because I didn't want it to overpower the taste of the cake. It was perfect. It was just enough to have a taste of lemon with the blueberries. Will definitely be making again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrittyLane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rocky Point, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
this is excellent, did not change a thing, will not change a thing. to the writer who felt she needed to change this cake because it was "too thick" and "dense" a batter, it's a pound cake...it's supposed to be that a way. really enjoyed this cake! ate 3 pieces right away and trouble stopping! thanks for a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae Gaither

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Delicious! I did everything except dredge the blueberries and that was because I ran out of flour. I was amazed at how thick the batter was but wasn't concerned.... it is soooooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcohen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I hesitated to add the sugar to the butter in the pan, but I did it and it came out awesome! Yes, the batter is thick, but don't add any liquid to it...it comes out perfect. My husband couldn't get enough of this, and I took it to card night and everyone had two pieces! Make it just as the directions and everyone will love it! I don't like when people change the recipes and rate it on THEIR recipe. Submit your own recipe and rate it....don't change the recipes!!!! This recipe is YUMMY....DELICIOUS....PERFECT Diane
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
This cake was delicious! I took another viewers suggestion and reduced the sugar to 1 1/2 cups and it was plenty sweet (I try to do this in most of my recipes). Since some people had issues getting the cake out of the pan in one piece after I sugared the pan I sprinkled a little of the fine gravy flour around pan and the cake came out easy and still had the sugary crust which is absolutely yummy! Another trick I learned years ago was even if you have fresh blueberries freeze them before you put them in the batter. This stops them from breaking down when you mix them in. This cake is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
THE BEST pound cake recipe I have ever eaten or tried!!!! I used fresh picked blueberries and also added a half a cup of low fat yoghurt to make sure it was moist. This cake is soo rich, buttery, and had the perfect amount of blueberries! It was very tender, came out of my pan well, and stayed extremely moist even after leaving it overnight unwrapped cause I forgot! I just baked another one but with raspberries in it for a friend. I got to try a nibble and the raspberry one is also delicious!!!!! It's more tart and tangy but very good. This will forever be my go to recipe. If you're looking for a great pound cake try this one! Also, a helpful note: I didn't have a bundt or tube pan so I reduced the serving size to 10 and baked it in a loaf pan for about an hour. It came out beyond perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I made this bread in my bread maker and it turned out so good! The flavor was great and the texture was wonderful! I would've posted a pic but it got eaten before I had a chance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
I just made this cake. Followed the recipe exactly. Made in the bundt pan. Had no issues with the cake coming out. The next time I make this I will however change the amount of sugar from 2 cups to 1 1/2 cups of sugar as it is way too sweet for me. Otherwise awesome cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
This cake was wonderful, so moist. Everyone loved it. I didn't have 4 eggs, only 3 so I added 3 heaping spoonfuls of sour cream. Also added lemon zest and 1 tbspn of lemon juice. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I think this might be the best blueberry pound cake I've made. Batter is thick so you can't actually pour it in the pan. Don't think you've done anything wrong, this is ok. I used some fresh and some freshly frozen berries. Worked fine. Took another reviewers suggestion and put plain batter in the bottom of the pan first to prevent berry explosion at the top when you turn over the bundt but I don't think it was necessary. The berries behaved well in this thicker mixture. Thanks for sharing. I'll make it again for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Southport, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States