Blueberry Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I hate to admit it, but anything that has a cup of butter is my kind of recipe. This was an excellent pound cake with perfect texture and the ideal amount of sweetness. The only change I made was to use 3 cups of fresh blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I made a couple of additions to the cake batter of lemon and orange extracts and lemon and orange zest. Then while the cake was cooling, I made a lemon/orange glaze using butter, powdered sugar, Greek yogurt, lemon and orange juices and zest. Drizzled over the cake while it was cooling and WOW! Came out great. Rich and dense with a great zing in every bite. I froze half of the cake to make sure the whole thing didn't get eaten in a day and thawed it later the same week. The frozen half was every bit as moist and rich as the first half. What a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Looks Great. Made for a bake sale, might have to buy myself or make another one. Did however take longer to bake then it called for. I did use frozen blueberries I had picked earlier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
A nice, dense cake, but that's what I expect from a pound cake! Good flavour, moist...next time I would skip sprinkling the sugar on the pan before baking, I found it difficult to remove the cake from the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brockville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Made exactly as written - excellent! Kids loved it - made in two loaf pans and they were gone in two days!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I can't honestly rate this recipe as is because I changed it...but wanted to share what I changed. I made this recipe the same except I used almond extract instead of vanilla. I did not use the sugar coating on the pan, instead I made an almond sugar glaze....1 1/2 c powdered sugar, 3/4 tsp almond extract and 6 tsp. water. I poured that over the top once the cake was cooled and waited 15 minutes for it to set. It was fantastic! I have no doubt this recipe would have been great as is though but didn't want to upset anyone by rating the recipe as is when i didn't use it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fatehpur
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Excellent recipe! This turned out very moist and everyone at a work retirement party loved it. I used frozen berries and it turned out fine. I used a 12 oz bag which was a bit more than 2 cups but I liked the extra fruit. I had no problems with using sugar in the pan and liked the little extra crunch it gave. I will absolutely make this again. I like to have a good recipe that I don't need a glaze or frosting for but next time I might try a lemon glaze for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Horeb, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Middleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
This is a wonderful cake. I made it just as written and it turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
AMAZING,THIS WAS THE BEST! I USED MORE BERRIES AND DID AS SUGGESTED BY ANOTHER REVIEW AND USED SOME LEMON ZEST AND ABOUT A TABLESPOON OF LEMON JUICE,ALSO SPOONED SOME BATTER WITHOUT BERRIES TO THE BOTTOM THEN THE BATTER WITH THE BERRIES,(IN CASE OF THE BERRIES STICKING TO THE BOTTOM) WE LOVED THIS CAKE!!! THANKS SO MUCH FOR THIS RECIPE,ONE OF MY BEST KEEPERS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I thought this was absolutely fantastic. The only thing I changed was adding the zest of half of a lemon, which gave it just a little extra bright flavor. I did have one problem, however. I used a loaf pan and I had a ton of batter left over and had to use the rest to make six cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States