Blueberry Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by mickdee
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Update: i did make this as written and it doesn't get any better than this! So moist and delicious! //// This was wonderful!! I followed the recipe to the letter with the exception of using strawberries (needed to use them up) and using a bundt pan. I left the berries, cut in smaller pieces on a papertowel to absorb moisture and then followed recipe to toss in flour. Will be making this again with blueberries or other fruits for my husband who loves sweet cakes and breads. He even remarked how much he liked the sugary "crust". I did wrap this in saran as it cooled to keep in the moisture. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I made this recipe for my household and in just one day it was gone. Awesome cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
flawless cake - I tired it with gluten free flour for my celiac students, and it came out as well as the traditional recipe. I made and presented both cakes side by side for a taste test and most of the kids preferred the texture of the gluten free recipe. Flavor is the same. You need to cool the cake in the pan longer if yo use gluten free flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
UPDATE: I have now made and "taken" this cake many times. EVERY TIME, it turns out moist and delicious. I did make a thin glaze out of powdered sugar and lemon juice last time and I believe this is the favorite! BETTER THE 2ND DAY. I made it according to the directions except I baked it in a bundt pan. I will make one change next time: Before adding the blueberries, I will spoon some of the "plain" batter into the bottom of the pan. Some of the blueberries in the very bottom stuck even though my pan was VERY well greased. I would take this *anywhere*!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florala, Alabama, USA
Living In: Laurel Hill, Florida, USA
Photo by kowalskibaby
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I baked this cake exactly as the directions described, and it turned out perfect! I was hesitant to butter and sugar the pan, but I went ahead and did it and I'm so glad that I did. The outside of this cake is a little crunchy from the sugar, and the entire cake is one of the best I've ever made. I combined powdered sugar and freshly squeezed lemon juice for a drizzle over the top. Definitely adding this one to my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I would have given the recipe 5 stars, but the cooling time was not accurate. I cooled mine for twice as long and it was still steaming hot so it fell apart when I turned it out, ending what would have been a beautiful blueberry cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
The taste of this recipe is DIVINE! The only thing I will note is that I had a REALLY hard time getting it out of the pan. I noticed that where the blueberries were touching the pan it made the cake very soft and it crumbled apart really easily when I tried to take it out. I think the next time I make it I will try to layer the batter and the bluberries to try and avoid that. Also, I made a simple sugar glaze to put over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
AWESOME recipe. It was just like I was hoping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
My neice made this 2 Thanksgivings ago. It was fabulous! I made this last year for Thanksgiving and everyone really loved it. I lost the recipe so I didn't get to cook it this year. But my favorite neice sent it to me in time for Christmas! This is sooo yummy. Can't wait to bake it. Thx Jo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Photo by kaitlinbeth
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Best cake ever!!! Made this for my mim's birthday and there was none left to take home. Will definately be making again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaitlinbeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries with a cinnamon-sugar and pecan filling make a 5-star coffee cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States